Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 3392
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3392
Region: Central North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 26, 2018

We live in what used to be an old church; now a character-filled house! We are nestled in a rural valley surrounded by sheep and cattle farms and bush. The house and small amount of land we own are a work in progress/labour of love. We also own the local retired bank, another church and the old once-was butcher shop which means there is always plenty to do.
There is no specific skills required, only a positive attitude and a smile. There is all manner of jobs to do such as painting, gardening, woodwork, restoration, farm-like work,.... you get the idea. There is no need to be bored and I'm sure we can find a job that suits you. This summer we are hoping to eradicate a climbing vine called wisteria, very pretty but is has just taken over and needs to go. So it will be mainly garden work and you will need to be able to work alone as we have a business to run and other jobs on the go. In this way it may be better suited to 2 people. At the moment I am looking for a couple of people to work tidying the section and paddocks in the fine weather or if it is wet stripping some window frames for painting.

We are a family of three; my husband, my 24 year old daughter and I. Currently our daughter is studying. We are a sociable, easy going bunch who enjoy talking and laughing and have many stories to tell around the fire at night. We are vegetarian (we do eat fish) so your meals will be meat-free. I am kiwi, my husband is Swedish and the whole family speaks Swedish.

We don't have a TV but we do have a computer which can be used to watch movies or use the Internet.
There are bikes available if you wish to explore the village (Matiere) and the surrounding county side.
We have a pool which is nice to swim in when the weather is warm
If you are interested we try to get you an outing on a farm and to see sheep being shorn.

We are very central in the North Island being about 2 hours from Hamilton, New Plymouth, Taupo, and Rotorua.
-We are about 30 min. from the nearest township which is Taumarunui. This is also where you can canoe down the Wanganui river.

- It is just over an hour to Mt Ruapehu with nice walks in summer and good skiing in winter. Right next door to this is Mt Tongariro which is said o be the best day walk in the southern hemisphere. Both these mountains are active volcanoes.

- About 1hr 15min to the Otorahonga kiwi house

-1hr 10min to the waitomo caves

- and just over an hour to the nearest beach

There is also a local cosmopolitan club (pub)down the road.

We look forward to getting to know you

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use