help exchange   Host 34017
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Castillon la Bataille
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2+2 or 2+1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34017
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 4, 2015

***UPDATE - we have room from now until 28th May for 1 or 2 people***

A big old stone town house in a pretty little market town on the banks of the Dordogne river, at the heart of the Bordeaux wine region. Just up the road from Saint Emilion, easy train access to Bordeaux and the Atlantic coast.
The house is beautiful and huge and we love it most when it's lively and full with lots of people at the table.
We have 4 big bedrooms, so 2 couples can be easily accommodated in separate rooms. All of these rooms finally have bathrooms!
We the owners are Kate 48 (English) and Fabian 47 (half English half French). We tend to speak French to each other but we are both bilingual. Kate is a restauranteur, and Fabian is a wine journalist (yes, your liver may suffer!) / musician / DIY man. Our restaurant is 3km away from the house on the banks of the river ( The restaurant is closed in the winter, so all the cooking gets done at home.

Life here tends to focus around food and wine. It's a lovely place to visit the area from. Train station just up the road, lots of beautiful countryside, wine tastings galore...
The house is very roomy, a big attic too with home cinema, sports gear and ping pong table, table football etc. Lots of musical instruments too, so impromptu private gigs are often! We also have a pool.
We are used to having a full house, so basically if you're at home with us you will be fed and watered just like any other member of the family :)
We have 5 children between the two of us, from 13 to 26 years old. They are sometimes here, sometimes not. We also have a very friendly jack russel puppy and 2 cats.
There are lots of things on our to do list, so if any of them inspire you and you'd like to come and stay with us...

there is still some painting to do.
One bathroom left to tile and finish plumbing in
General DIY and upkeep that comes with an old house
We're mainly concentrating on the house this winter, but we also have an old wooden boat that needs some TLC and a much loved but very rusty VW camper van :)
We are very flexible, so you will have plenty of free time.

Do get in touch if you have any questions, and we look forward to having you !

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use