Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34079
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 6
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34079
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 20, 2018

Please only contact us if you can spend at least one month here. (We need help 5 hours a day/5 days a week, usually weekdays not weekends). We are a young family of 4, Jeremy 33 years old, Maria 41 years young, Gabriel 10 active years and Lolo "77 dog years" old (our very small dog). We speak English at home, live in the country with a good amount of outdoor space and tranquility but are 2 minutes (by car) from the third largest city in the center of Mallorca (Inca). We are also 20 minutes from the capital of the island (Palma). The price to go to Palma by train varies: single trips are 3 euros but if you buy 20 trips to use within 120 days it costs 30.40 euros (1.52 euros per trip). We own a business (meal delivery to client's offices and homes) in Boston that we manage from here. We don't eat animal products (if you need to eat meat, cow/goat's milk, eggs, cheese, etc. you will have to buy them yourself, sorry it's a matter of philosophy of life).

We eat macrobiotic food. A macrobiotic diet helps with many health conditions: cholesterol, blood pressure, asthma, anemia, sugar cravings, arthritis, weight management, digesting problems, autoimmune diseases, psoriasis, diabetes and even cancer. If you want to improve any disease you or a family member could have it would be a great learning experience for you and you probably get better or heal completely. We have had people who recovered from many different diseases and they all felt much better eating this way (had more energy, slept better, were more focused, etc.). HelpXers are usually scared they are not going to enjoy the food we eat but when they try it they are surprised eating healthfully can be so delicious. They usually say they didn't like vegetables before they ate our recipes and then they say that it's the way we cook vegetables that make them so enjoyable. Our food is not 100% macrobiotic. We "macrotize" recipes from all over the world but we are influenced mostly by the Mediterranean flavors.

If you come to our house you can learn how to cook macrobiotic food with Mediterranean and other flavors of the world (Indian, Mexican, Moroccan...). You don't need to know how to cook vegetarian food, it's actually better if you don't because we prepare things differently and it's better if you learn the way of doing things from us and our techniques. A very organized person would be more valuable to us.

We paid $12.000 to study Macrobiotics at the Kushi Institute (the official macrobiotic school in the USA) plus room and board (about $1500 more). We will teach you what we learned at the Kushi Institute besides providing you with housing and food.

An advantage Mallorca has is that it is very international and so there are many opportunities to immerse yourself in different languages.

We would like to find a couple that can help inside and outside the house(from September to June because from July 9th to the end of August we will not be home).

One of you would be cooking (the recipes you will follow are in English but very easy) and cleaning the house and the other would work outside (we hope to start an organic garden soon but first we need to drill our own well). We have some construction projects we would like to finish, so somebody with experience in construction would be a plus.

You will NOT have to iron clothes unless they are your own clothes.

Another reason why we need couples is because we are very busy and don't have much time to spend with helpXers. This way you can be with each other during your free time, explore the island togheter and have touristy adventures. We have already seen the island and can't take helpXers to the touristy places we have already been many times. Sundays would be the only day we could spend time with you if you want to go somewhere with us (unless we are invited to a friend's house and we can not include you). Otherwise we will ask you if you want to come with us when we have an outing.

HelpXer's accommodation: Private bedroom with one queen bed (for two people), bathroom and kitchen with radiant floor heating (fueled by a combination of solar and an almond shell furnace) in independent house adjacent to the main house in the countryside. Some of the times you will have to share your bathroom with other helpXers but these helpXers will be living in the room in the picture that's in another building about 10 meters away. We will lend you bicycles to move around (deposit required).

The photos below are the helpXer's rooms, kitchen and bathroom.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use