Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34096
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.0340
Persons: 2 (plus kids)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34096
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 1, 2017

Well, where to start! For some years I have been taking in guests through another website, and have now decided to give HelpX a go.


As I live on a small strata lot, the help I need is limited to house and garden tasks.

Installing skirting around internal floors
School busy-bees
maybe some painting and brick laying.

I prefer people to stay between 2 days and up to a week. I will provide accommodation and dinner in exchange for about 2 hours help in and around the house. Internet access is also available. You are welcome to come along to family outings. I love going to the beach, live music events and hiking. It will work better for me if you provide your own breakfast and lunch.

There is one room available for private use which can accommodate one or two people. A shared bathroom and toilet is available. Bedding and towels, etc. will be provided.

I chose to live in this beautiful part of the world, back in 2004, after years of travelling and experiencing lots of different places and cultures. My son, Jonas, is 8 years old and he has had the opportunity to experience much travelling in his short life so far, and he is also fortunate to have the wonderful opportunity of growing up in the caring community that is Denmark.

I have a number of wonderful friends that happen to be parents from Jonas' school, and from various connections in Denmark, including from the cooperative housing movement, and from the environmental movement in town. HelpX is a fantastic opportunity to extend that friendship network further afield.

I have a big red canoe and I need a good excuse to keep doing it, so anybody wanting to join me is most welcome!

The beaches around here are just magnificent and I love going swimming all year round. Try swimming in July (winter!!)... it can be very exhilarating for the

Denmark is a small town on the South Coast amongst tall trees and near to beautiful beaches. I live near to the middle of town.

There are heaps of things to do around here. There are cycle trails, walking tracks, and beaches to surf and swim. You can go canoeing on the river or try your luck catching some fish. On the weekends there are often bands playing at the local wineries, markets and other community events which happen throughout the year. There are many wildlife parks to visit. Notable sights include:
- Greens Pool and Elephant Rocks
- Tree Top Walk
- Ocean Beach and Fireworks Rocks and Prawn Rock Channel
- Boston Brewery at Willoughby Park
- Mount Lindesay and Little Lindesay
- Toffee Factory and Cidery
- Bartholomew's Meadery and Honey Factory
- Peaceful Bay
- Madfish Bay
- Walpole Wilderness Cruises
- Frankland River and Circular Pool, including canoeing
- Wilson Inlet
- Porongurup Range and Castle Rock
- Stirling Range and Bluff Knoll
- Dinosaur Museum and Reptile and Bird Park

There is no good public transport around here. So you will need your own car or bicycle to get here. I used to hitchhike a lot around here and that seemed to work alright.

Kids (there are always kids around for Jonas to play with, and there are so many other good friends of his now that he has started full time schooling)
Music (local stuff and folk/world music festivals - I am in a couple of local choirs)
Crosswords and Boardgames on lazy evenings and wet wintery days

If you want to learn about the beautiful Australian landscapes, then I can hook you up with some of the most knowledgeable people in this part of the world. I have experience at working in and enjoying the WA environment. I can find native animals for you.

I don't mind if you have young children visiting with you, as our kids can learn from each other.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use