Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34273
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5.66
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34273
Region: Northern Territory

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 3, 2018

**Summary - gorgeous rocky land and peaceful home 7 km from Katherine, (which is 300 km inland from Darwin) Northern Territory. Looking for honest, good-humoured single or couple interested in the natural environment to help with mostly weeding, slashing and odd jobs with some housework. Must like dogs and cats. Not a party house. Cannot sign for second year visa. WIFI available but limited to 18 GB per month.**

The land:
14 acre bush block of beautiful karst limestone registered with Land For Wildlife. 7 kilometres from Katherine town. No public transport. Great bird life, wallabies, sometimes echidnas, frogs, Gilgai crabs in the Wet Season, lizards and snakes. Not a good place in the Wet for anyone scared of snakes or insects. The Olive Pythons here grow up to 4m in length. Lots of insects after a rain too - centipedes and beetles and spiders and moths and flying ants. On the plus side, the fire flies are delightful at night in the Wet!

The home:
Spacious new tropical design house. Bedroom and own bathroom available (bathroom occasionally shared with tradies or day visitors). Share kitchen, laundry, sitting room and verandahs. You must be comfortable with dogs outside and cats inside. House very well insulated and some mobile phones don't receive well inside - okay on verandah though. Have Wifi. Aircon available if needed. No pool or spa. No garden around house yet - but the limestone pinnacles and the natural bush make for a unique and beautiful landscape.

The work:
Being a bush block there are always jobs that need doing. Hand pulling (and occasionally spraying) weeds and slashing firebreaks are tasks important to maintain the native grasses. Checking and repairing basic irrigation, pruning, fertilising and caring for the hens helps to produce food.

Basically, help with general rural land and house work needed. Great if you have gardening, farming, general fix-it skills. Need to be heat tolerant for working outside in this climate. Prefer sensible people who can work with minimal direction, follow a list of instructions and figure out ingenious ways to fix or improve things without interfering too much with the natural landscape. Good sense of humour essential.

The offer:
Offering non-cooked breakfast plus evening meal and accommodation for three hours work per day. If you stay seven days or more, no work on Sunday (or whichever day is your Sabbath) except for cleaning up after yourself. Diet: No pork, red meat rarely, mostly chicken, fish, salads. Low fat, high fibre diet. Min stay of seven days. Trial of seven days for those who wish to stay longer.

The Rules:
No smoking inside. No parties or loud music. No big drinkers. No illicit drugs. No fireworks or firearms or loud noises that may disturb wildlife. In Dry Season need to be very careful with fire because house is surrounded by tall native grasses. The cook doesn't do the dishes!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use