Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34285
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 3
Category: Other
Host ID: 34285
Country: Belgium

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 10, 2015

**we are not currently taking anymore helpxers. it may still be possible though to visit the area, and potentially work later in the spring when there is more work. thank you for you interest**

This place is a lot of things. It is first and foremost a property of 25 hectares. On this property there is the chateau, dating back to 1706. There are annexes around it dating from before that, used for housing, festivities and storage. then there is the park. The park is, in my opinion, a world of its own. It has pastures, where cows and donkeys munch around, woods, with some really nice trees, an (unfortunately decrepit) chinese pavilion, and a garden. The garden is where I primarily work. I focus on eco-contruction, gardening based around permaculture principles, and a medicinal garden in an old greenhouse.

All of these ask for a huge amount of attention and care. I myself am a recently graduated bachelor of science, taking a year off to work on projects here. I live in the main house along with the groundskeeper, a young man living with his wife and daughter. Together we speak french, but I also speak english, some german, and he also speaks spanish and romanian. There's a lot of work, and we would appreciate help. Projects constantly come and go and feel free to ask about which ones are current, but they generally revolve around park maintenance (clearing paths of leaves with tractor, logging up fallen trees), restoration (masonry, fixing windows), and caring for the donkeys (and taming them one day...) These are the essential tasks that are necessary for the survival of the property. There are then projects that are more for its thrival. The tools, land, and resources for most things are available. These projects involve everything in the garden, figuring out something to do about the pavillion, a skating halfpipe, a treehouse.

My schedule depends on the weather but generally is waking up relatively late (9-10ish) but then being outside all day, working until about 17h. It's not by military discipline, but I do what needs to be done and I do it because there's nothing I'd rather do with my day. So our schedule would be an adaptation of that, so it's important you find a project you'll enjoy. A lot of the time involves figuring stuff out, overcoming barriers set by resource availability, researching and learning the needed skills. Then in the evenings you can chill out, the food comes from a local organic farm and the supermarket. There are comfortable rooms for you to stay in.
I think I've said what I had to say, for the most part. In your email, please include what languages you speak. I hope to hear from the interested their questions and reasons.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use