Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34545
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Takaka, Golden Bay
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7 +
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34545
Region: Golden Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 1, 2017

We are dairy farmers who live next to our farm, in an old homestead with a beautiful cottage garden. We need help dead-heading roses, weeding in the garden, helping get in the firewood, washing/painting walls, mowing the lawns, housework and caring for our animals (Dog, cats, 2 horses.) We have two children, aged 9 and 13. We hope that you like children, but we would not expect childcare. I would love help cleaning my house, or with baking/cooking. What can we offer you? Well, we can offer you a cosy caravan, or a double room inside, and use of a great shower...We have a beautiful property with verandahs and stunning views. You could set up a hammock in the shade of the side garden, or sunbathe on the lawn. We are walking distance to the river. You could borrow my bicycle. Our home is 10 km from the Takaka Township, so you would want to have your own car or be willing to hitchhike. You could also walk to a pick your own berry farm, or to a little private art gallery up the road, or to my mum in law's incredible show garden. We are not vegetarians, and we don't drink, but we do have a juicer and a bloody good blender if you are into smoothies and things like that. I have wireless broadband, country style (not that fast) I would prefer non smoking/drugging helpers (it is ok if you drink in your own space). Ideally you would be a couple, or friends who are happy to would want to stay a couple of days or longer, and you would be happy to work 4 hours for Dinner and breakfast and accommodation, or 2 hours a day, for accommodation only. I am an artist, and Mark is a musician. We don't have much free time, but perhaps that will change with a Helper? Then we might have time for a jam or an art lesson. Mark and I love to discuss current events, music, books and art. I used to manage the visitor information centre, so I can advise you on things to do in Golden Bay and further afield. We are social people, but we also love quiet and privacy, so ideally you would be independent and into checking out Golden Bay. We would love to share our home with you and look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use