Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34606
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Chalonnes sous Le Lude
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34606
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 11, 2016

I am looking for help with carpentry work and plumbing.

The poly tunnel needs doors - as seen in the pictures before I order the plastic. Any one with carpentry skills would be very much appreciated!

Also I need to sort out the extra bathrooms and a solar hot water system. Help on this would be very much appreciated.

Summary: I need help in our life here! Sustainable living. Vegetarian. Building with cob. New poly tunnel being built. Creating a more living space in the roof and a bathroom. Large gardens for growing most of the food eaten here. Lots of processing and preserving. Also make yoghurt and goats cheese. Next year I'm looking at building a "tiny house" sans permit, primarily using the resources available here.

I'm Zoe and I'm the owner of this place. I used to work in the IT industry but stepped out over 10 years ago. I work hard growing and processing food for eating all year round. I'm in the same sort of area as Carol Deppe, the Resilient Gardener, my main crops are potatoes, corn, beans, squash and eggs. I also make cheese and yoghurt.
I am a healer, using the energy from my hands - but this is something I do and if you are interested I'll do it / teach it but if you are not that is ok too. I like to live gently and taking only what I need. I give a lot of space to wildlife and and time to people who visit here.

There is plenty of opportunity to observe a diverse array of birds and other wild life. Any one interested in identifying birds, wild flowers, insects, grasses etc are very welcome. I am looking at the possibility of catching carp for eating but I have no experience, so again I would welcome this knowledge. I am also looking at a more overall permaculture design, any input is welcome.

The place is made up of multiple buildings, out buildings, wild areas with only paths cut through, a lake and maintained gardens. The main living house is over 400 years old and was stables. There are additional stone buildings used for accommodation. There is a large bread oven used for pizzas and a fire pit for relaxed evenings preferably accompanied by music.

We are situated in a small green valley in the midst of agricultural area. The setting allows for a respite from the modern world. Internet and mobile phone access is limited. The village does not have a shop but 2 km pleasant walk gets you to a shop/post office/cafe/bar. The area has much history and is between Le Loir and La Loire.

I am looking for people that are interested in my life style and are hard working. It is not easy living in paradise! I am looking for about 5 hrs work each day that I am accommodating a helper. These can be flexibly worked to allow days off. Presently the only animals are chickens.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use