Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34612
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34612
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 30, 2016

*** We are currently looking for a person or couple with experience in gardening or building. There is an opportunity to learn some electrical trade skills, or to undertake paid electrical work if you have experience or qualifications. ***

We are a couple living on 100 acres in the beautiful farming area of Scottsdale in NE Tasmania. 2 mins from town, 20 mins from the beach, 1 hr from Launceston and the airport. Fishing, wineries and general tourism all around.

75 acres has recently come out of forestry lease, having been logged in February 2016. Rehabilitation to pasture and tree planting has begun. An additional 25 acres of grazing with many sheds and buildings, grazing sheep, beef cattle and dairy cattle, chickens and geese.

Currently establishing a fruit orchard, cider orchard, vege and herb gardens. Repairing and rebuilding the old sheds, including an old dairy, piggery and hayshed/barn.

Other animals on farm include four cats and two maremma sheepdogs.

We grow as much of our own food as possible.

Work could include weeding and watering, building repairs, fencing, laying water lines, burr chipping, working with the sheep and cattle, mowing, milking, perhaps some housework etc.

Someone who loves to cook and would like to teach us their specialty would be a bonus. We may be making cheese, preserves or cider as well, depending on the time of year.

We are not able to offer paid work, we are offering all meals and accommodation in return for help on the farm.

Accommodation is two single beds in the second bedroom of our house, sharing bathroom and laundry facilities.

We are a non smoking household, but we do drink and eat meat. Vegetarians are fine, but please be prepared to work with us to find meals to suit you as I am not experienced in cooking vegetarian meals.

Preferred contact method is email.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use