Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34702
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

near Brisbane
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34702
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 10, 2017

Our solar-powered home is set in the rainforest of Mount Glorious, 45 minutes from Brisbane. We are a couple with three children (13, 18 and 21 years).
We embrace a philosophy of sustainability and building resilient communities and households, with a focus on practical skills.
Erika is a midwife working part time in Brisbane. Bruce is an activist and craftsman, working in bush timber work, traditional hand tool woodwork, and blacksmithing with charcoal made from our forest. We build and repair bicycles and electric bicycles (our son is a bike mechanic).
We have a long history of sharing our home with visitors from many places. We enjoy learning about other people and the places they come from.
Our living space is busy with projects, study and housework all day.

Our home is not a place for visitors who depend on frequent access to phones, screens or internet. We discourage screen use in our living area: this is an opportunity to connect with a real things and the natural world.

Tasks include housework and outdoor work, including veggie gardening, maintaining our orchard, building, painting, fixing and landscaping.
Current activities on our property include: Chopping and stacking firewood, building a new bathroom from timber grown on our place, installing a new water tank and working on house and shed and landscaping.
Visitors should plan to help every day with dishwashing and household cleaning.

We (usually) provide a room with a double bed and bedding, within our house.
We don't have smoking in or around our house or buildings.
We offer limited access to wireless internet. Visitors are asked to leave their screens in their rooms.
Our house is supplied by solar electricity (with batteries), and electricity use must be very efficient.
Water is supplied from our rainwater tanks, so must be used carefully.

We welcome our helpers to engage with our daily activities and eat and work with our family through our daily routine. Visitors who enjoy this and have an interest in developing their skills will find a more rewarding experience.
Our family has a focus on craft and home production skills, including cooking delicious whole foods on our wood and charcoal stoves, renewable energy, constructing and fixing bikes and electric bikes, traditional woodworking, blacksmithing gardening and building. Our family has a focus on a healthy lifestyle and we eat a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian foods.

Local options for spare time include extensive bush walks, a choice of cafes, and beautiful mountain cycling.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use