Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34777
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34777
Country: Greece

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 21, 2015

I returned last December (2013) to my family's home on Paros Island in Greece after being a student and a high school and university teacher for the past 20 years in the United States and France -- teaching variously Social Studies, History, French, and English. I am slowly rebuilding our family home, using sustainable and traditional methods. I particularly want to find people with experience using natural building techniques -- straw, clay, lime-based solutions -- for rebuilding the surface of the newer part of our house (Ytong bricks). The house is beautiful and we can make it even more beautiful using the soft forms of natural building.
For October: I am looking for a person who can help me turn convert an electric washing machine into one that runs on bicycle power. If you have skills and want to help with that, please come soon! (Our washing machine just broke and it's the perfect opportunity to repurpose it!)
I am also looking for people who can help me replaster my walls using natural building methods. I can teach you!
And, finally, I am looking for house-sitters I can trust for November and December.

Once the house is set up, and drawing some revenue from summer rentals, I will be investing in developing our permaculture garden and have plans to start a farm -- with donkeys and goats-- on our field outside of the village. I am looking for people with experience in gardening, carpentry, and natural building to help me get the ball rolling. People trained in Qi Gong, Chinese Medicine, and Yoga would also be welcome as I miss my California health practices! I host everyone in rooms at my home in a peaceful fishing harbor. Right by the sea. Gorgeous! I have two children and in the future will host educational art and outdoor camps for children. I dream of starting a school with an integrated curriculum, connecting the knowledge of plants and the earth with our academics. I earned degrees from Amherst College ('93), L'Institut d'Etudes politiques in France (1995) and UC Santa Cruz (Anthropology/Education Department, '98) - but my real passion and dream has been living off the land, in small places with lively and peaceful people connected to community and sustainable lifestyles.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use