Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34790
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 70
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34790
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 29, 2017

We have recently been away, but are now back home where jobs still need doing!

We live on the southern reaches of Mt Bruce, which is a bird sanctuary where kiwi, kaka and kokako are living freely, we are visited regularly by kaka and lots of other native birds. (but not kiwi and kokako).
We have a large 4 bedroom house, where helpers can have their own room or shared. Helpers would have their own shared bathroom (and own lounge, should they wish) although we would hope that they would join us in our large family/kitchen area. We have a pool table, piano and spa pool.

We are 20 mins from Masterton by car and can easily pick up helpers from train or bus. Would prefer helpers to stay minimum of 2 full days.

We are a semi-retired couple, who still work our farm where we have sheep, cattle and calves. We have 1 dog, who does not come inside the house. We both play music and are members of our local brass band, we both are involved in amateur theatre and have been on stage many times. Jim has run many marathons and usually runs everyday, Barbara enjoys walking and tramping. We are both orienteers.

Being a farm, there are always ongoing projects, fencing, building, spraying with which you could help. If you are really lucky you could be here for haymaking (really hard work, but great fun and social experience). Our large garden need constant weeding which is where we would welcome help. We have recently purchased another property which we will be moving into over the coming weeks, so help will be needing in helping to shift heavier furniture and cleaning the emptying house, and repairing anything that needs it. There will be fencing at the new house.

The Wairarapa is a fantastic place to be.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use