Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34819
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 9
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34819
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 17, 2017

**Update Summer 2016**

Looking for builders, engineers, gardeners...

Current work....

Working in the garden: clearing, mulching, pruning
Making lots of compost for the no-dig annual vegetable plot,
Working on the tiny home & garden - digging ponds, clearing ground, green roofing and interior carpentry
Clearing around woodland trees,
Chopping and stacking wood,

And some other work...

Plus you will be expected to contribute to the usual daily routine: household chores including washing up, preparing food and caring for animals.

A bit about what we expect from volunteers:

ESSENTIAL: enthusiasm, interest, energy, self motivated, ability to get up in the mornings!! willingness to help, observant, open minded, independent,
We ask for 4 - 5 hours, 5 days/week. We usually start work at 9am.
You will need waterproof boots, & rain gear, old clothes.

DESIRABLE: Any practical skills relating to our work and projects listed below, physical fitness, a positive nature, experience with tools and practical experience working, fluent english speaking, non-smoker.

NOT DESIRED: Please do not apply if your main motivation is to travel for free or to learn english.
If your english is not great that is fine, we can work on it, If you don't have much money that's also fine, but you need an interest in what we are doing here to be your main motive for coming.

Lots of learning about aspects of living this lifestyle, permaculture design,etc (see below), help with english language, a spacious bedroom, laundry, access to library, fresh organic meals, and you are welcome to join us leisure activities (dancing, tai chi, yoga, visiting friends,cycling, walking,) and in our local networks activities (eg: work parties, seed saving group etc). Also the use of bicycle to explore the local area.

WE INVITE YOU to stay with us for one week and then we can REVIEW together what is going well for us both and if there is anything that we, or you, would like to change. This is an opportunity for us and you to make sure our needs are being met, and to decide if you will stay longer or not.

I am a Permaculture teacher with a farm- mainly young woodlands -& garden in the Irish midlands looking for some helping hands.... main priorities here for 2016 are:

1: Self-build a tiny home for myself and/or future volunteers.
2.Maintain and develop the Permaculture food gardens, so working with plants and structures.
3.Clearing the land after the establishment of young woodland, and clearing the grass from around the young trees
4.Chopping and stacking logs.
5.Renovating a small stone barn using traditional lime mortar

The farm:
Currently we have 20 acres of newly planted woodland, permaculture kitchen garden scale vegetable & fruit, and some poultry.

Aside from the projects noted above, general seasonal patterns are:
Winter - hedging, tree planting, cutting firewood, building, planning, inside work.
Spring -garden garden garden!
Summer -more garden, stacking turf at the bog, harvesting and preserving produce
Autumn - Preserving produce & Harvesting,

You'll need an interest in the above projects, living simply, enthusiasm, self motivation, energy, any practical skills or experience relating to the above projects, a willingness to muck in & help out with whatever's happening including household chores, Cooking, cleaning up, etc. & daily & seasonal farm activities. Most importantly I really appreciate energy, enthusiasm, listening skills and good communication!

Is in a spacious double room in the family house in winter, & in a bell tent in summer -or bring your own tent/campervan and we can have more people here at any one time

One of us is vegan and one eats meat, So you choose. If you've any special dietry requirements let us know in advance of coming. All food is organic, fresh, wholesome.

The locality is very rural, as in we don't have many 'amenities' or much social activity -for younger adults, around here. The small town of strokestown is about a mile away, there is a couple of grocery shops, some bars, a school etc. The Strokestown park house, gardens & famine museum, are open to the public all year. There are a handful of local festivals, traditional music & dancing.
The next nearest towns are Roscommon, Longford, Carrick-on-Shannon. There are more shops, markets, restaurants etc there. You can get a bus from Strokestown to Longford, Roscommon, or Carrick. From there you can get train to Sligo, Galway, Dublin. You can also have the use of a bicycle, and if convienient we can give you a lift somewhere.

Other things:

WE are 2 women working & living here ages 30 & 50 something. With occasional help from my brother and my partner.
I myself have done lots of wwoofing & we have hosted many volunteers over the years so I know what it's like from both perspectives.
Between us we have various interests & hobbies from traditional dancing to freestyle dance, tai chi, yoga, meditation, hiking, meditation, socialising, exploring, singing, cooking, & more... Bring your passions with you & we can share together.

Contact us.... if you think this sounds like somewhere you'd like to spend some time! Please when you email, let me know what your particular interests & skills are & why you'd like to come & give as much information as possible. We also require a list of previous helpex or wwoofing host that you have stayed with.


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use