Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34933
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,6
Persons: 2 preferably
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34933
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 5, 2017

We are living on a small holding in a static caravan on the somerset, Devon , Dorset border whilst we are renovating our stone barn. We have 3 big pigs who are very friendly and 1 piglet called snowball. We also have 7 chickens , 3 sheep called Jerry lee and Lewis , 2 dogs and 2 cats. We ve been here 4 years now and have been starting from scratch really ,planting trees and hedges (we have a digger luckily!) laying paths, building vegetable beds etc etc.... The list is never ending! I m also an artist / set builder so I ve got a few more artistic projects running alongside and my husband restores old vehicles and caravans so theres ALWAYS a million jobs to do of all descriptions! ....that's without even starting on the house!
We have a lovely vintage American caravan that is rented out in the summer for the winter helpers can stay in it if my daughter is not here though in the summer you ll be staying in an one of our other vintage caravans that we keep for family and friends.. They have electricity and a woodburner and Internet and you ll have use of the facilities that include kitchen, shower , toilet, TV , DVD player ,computer, board games, table football, ping pong , a playstiation, a piano and even a retro arcade game.
It would suit a couple or 2 people who are prepared to share a bed...with each other ( obviously!).... You can take it in turns to do the work if you want....I don't start early and have set hours, it's more relaxed than that.... I give you eggs toast and cereal so you can get your own breakfast , I make you a nice coffee and we work out what's going to happen that day then you do it at your own pace. If the one not working is up for cooking that would be ideal as my speciality is anything burnt....Also, on days when rain stops play or you want some time off then you can entertain each other....we ve got bikes now so you could explore the's all downhill from where we live so if you play your cards right we ll pijck you up in the van and drive you back up! Its only 8 miles to either Taunton, wellington or Honiton.
Theres a pub and a shop within walking distance if you fancy it.
if this sounds like what you're looking for then get in touch and let me know your skill set and we ll take it from there.
I look forward to meeting you.

So current update - I m looking for a couple ( definitely ) available from mid July through to mid August when we re going away. . I have lots to do to get ready to go and prepare for the house sitter. I need a hand painting in the stone barn - moving stones to build some walls, watering plants daily if it's hot ( this takes about 3 hours in itself!) , mulching some trees and shrubs and walking the dogs - and cooking! We re prob looking at about 4 hrs work a day but after that you need to entertain yourselves as I ll still be working - I do about 12 hrs a day and I wouldn't expect that of you but it doesn't leave a lot of time for entertainment!
Let me know if that suits!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use