Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 34966
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Woodend
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34966
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 14, 2018

Vacancy for 1 or 2 people from 20th August for 10 to 12 days, specifically to help in the garden with any of these tasks:
Raking leaves
Tidying up garden
Light pruning and weeding
Stacking fire wood
French-speakers to help student prepare for trip to France

========================================================

We are a family of two adults and a teenager on 7 acres in Woodend; an easy 1 hour train ride from Melbourne. Also we have a long-term house guest and occasional teenage children staying, so it can be busy at times. We have ongoing garden maintenance and home renovation tasks and will appreciate your help with numerous projects.

We will collect you from the train station, so you don`t need a car. If you have a vehicle, it's a bonus. It's a picturesque area near famous Hanging Rock. If you stay for 2 weeks we will try to drive you to some of the sights while you are here.

The work required is varied and we will match it to your skills: gardening, planting, weeding, digging, painting, fencing, animal care, cooking, cleaning, mowing, collecting branches, tidying up etc. Please let us know if you have particular skills. We are looking for 4 to 5 hours a day for 5 days with 2 full days off or a similar combination. If you have carpentry or landscaping skills we will be very grateful!

We enjoy fresh home-cooked food and grow some vegetables and have our own honey. All meals are provided and we would love you to help with the cooking or cleanup after dinner. Please let us know your food preferences. We hope you like to eat eggs as we collect fresh eggs daily from chickens and quails!

Animals include one cat, about 15 chickens, some quails and 3 alpacas. We also have bees on the property but they don't require much work! If you are allergic to bees it might not be the right place for you. We often have kangaroos and there are many birds and parrots that visit.

The property is in a quiet street with fabulous neighbours. Internet is available. We are learning French (slowly) so we enjoy having French guests that we can converse with in the evenings over a glass of red wine and cheese!

Our house is not luxurious, but it's comfortable. Bedroom with a pull out Ikea sofa bed (suits 1 or a couple, or 2 friends who are happy to share), and shared bathroom. Non-smokers please. In addition we have bicycles available for you to use. We are always happy to drop you into the village (4km) should you want to catch the train or go to the pub. We usually take our guests out to dinner once a fortnight to thank them for their hard work.

Sorry we cannot help with 2nd year visa as we are not a farm business.

If you're the sort of person who is happy to dive in without too much supervision, please drop us a line!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use