Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35026
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 2-3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 35026
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 5, 2015

This is an opportunity to stay on our 11 acre hobby farm property in Kandanga (in Queensland’s beautiful Mary Valley). Our property is a 20min drive to the bustling big town of Gympie, a 45min drive to the beautiful beaches and river at Noosa, a 5min drive to the Kandanga shops (local pub, café, post office and corner store), and a 10min drive to the beautiful country town Imbil with shops, cafes and another country pub where there is a large dam (Borumba Dam) and a great river for fishing. A little over 1 hour drive to Tin Can Bay and Rainbow beach where you can access the beautiful Fraser Island.

We are a couple, both working full time so have little time available to tend to our property and could use an extra helping hand. We can cater for 1 or 2 people; couples are also welcome.
Our property has a large house, 4 large paddocks, a dam, vege gardens, a couple of fruit trees, views of adjoining hills with plenty of native wildlife. Our own animals currently include 2 very friendly cattle dogs and 5 chickens. We plan to bring some cattle, goats and horses onto the property in the near future.
Stays from 5 days to 10 days are available.

2 hours daily work per person required in exchange for accommodation only (we are flexible with this – i.e. you can do full days should you wish to). Duties will vary from:
• Vegetation clearing / stick pick-ups / building burn piles
• Repair and improvements to fencing (including wire, electric fences, and barbed wire)
• Lawn Mowing (ride on) & brush cutting
• Gutter clearing & meshing
• Chopping / chain-sawing firewood
• General maintenance / repairs
• Skilled qualified professional work is available - Plumbing / Carpentry / Plastering / Tree Lopping / Electrical
• Lighter duties are available such as cleaning / organizing sheds
• Sanding / Painting

You may choose to stay in your own caravan / van away from our house next to our fully powered shed with nearby access to a rain-tank OR in our provided lockable self-contained accommodation (a room off the side of the house but not accessible via the main house). In this large room, a Queen bed in room will be provided – an additional separate floor mattress is available if needed. You will have access to your own full sized bathroom, and an area with your own basic cooking facilities and utensils (sink, simple gas cook top, small bar fridge, and microwave). You will also have full access to our non-heated pool and BBQ / outdoor area. Before departure, your room, kitchenette and bathroom area must be cleaned to the standard it was found after your stay (including dusting, vacuuming, mopping, cleaning the bathroom, clearing dishes, and applying the clean new bed linen – this is not included in daily work time).

Your own transport is ideal to get around and see the sights and do shopping and activities, however, we can pick you up from anywhere within 30mins drive (i.e. Gympie / Cooroy). One of our jobs takes us to Cooroy on a daily basis should you need a ride there. Our property does have mobile phone 3G reception for your mobile phone (with Telstra). We do not provide wireless internet access – we only have limited access to internet for our own use.

We are looking for people who are hard working, honest, reliable, and happy to get their hands dirty. Experience in fencing would be desirable but not necessary.

Note that we are a fully clothed property – no nudity.

Sorry, but no second year visa signing available.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use