help exchange   Host 35036
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St Andrews
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8.1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35036
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2016

We are a Belgian couple (whom migrated to Australia in 1998). We are both in our fifties. We speak Flemish, English and very basic French.
Currently we are building a energy efficient house and a big greenhouse with aquaponics system.
We are aiming for a 80% self-sufficient lifestyle.
The small arm is located in the hills North East of Melbourne near Kinglake NP. Very nice scenery and completely surrounded by bush. 45 km from Melbourne City. We can just see the Melbourne skyline when the viz is good. Nearest station is half an hour drive by car.
Lots of wildlife: Deer, kangaroos, wallabies, lizards, wombats, possums, etc.
Off-the-grid PV system (9.5 kW with 15 kWh battery storage).
We collect our own water (56000 litres storage) and it is the purest water you will ever find!
Small animal farm (rabbits, chooks. Goats and pigs coming soon, etc). We grow our own fodder from germinated barley and wheat.
We also got a lovely dog named Yoppo (A cross breed Kelpie, Border Collie).

Your accomodation is in a well insulated office space of the shed with own wood heater, small kitchen, shower and double bed. You are also welcome to join in for meals with us.
We expect you to work around 25 hours per week. In return you will have free food, homebrew beer and accomodation and privacy. Very relaxed atmosphere and plenty of time to sit back and enjoy a break. We can also provide training in husbandry, aquaponics, self-sustainability.
Work would exist out of (But not limited to) clearing trees, removing dead wood, maintenance of machinery, looking after lifestock, clearing weeds, helping out in kitchen, cleaning, meat preparation, making homebrew and preserves, etc.
We can pick you up from airport or station.

Positions available from mid 2015 onwards (Once the house is finished).
Experience operating chainsaws and other powertools is a bonus but not essential. Must be honest, physically fit and willing to help/learn. Positions open to all.
Hope to meet you soon!

Personal info: Luc worked for more then three years in Antarctica (Two winters and three summers). Wintered at Casey and Mawson. Engineer (Robotics and Mechatronics). Works for the Bureau Of Meteorology.
Katrien has recently retired and is a great cook!
We had a life full of travel as well and are happy to share experiences.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use