Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35058
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: Prefer 2 people
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35058
Region: Central North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 29, 2018

We haven't got many jobs currently, only fencing, and cobbling, but you are welcome to ask anyway and if we can we will offer you a place.
After spending a year helpxing in Europe in 2012, we are home in NZ and ready to be a host for like minded travellers. We are interested in other cultures and will be happy to share knowledge of our country too. We believe it must be a good experience for all parties.

We are not on a property or farm, however we always seem to have plenty of jobs to do. Depending on your interests and abilities we have lots of jobs to choose from;
* gardening - plenty
* chopping firewood
* handyman jobs - various building skills would be helpful
* painting - when the weather is favourable
* you are welcome to cook too
Daily hours of work will be somewhere between 4 -5 hours. We are happy to negotiate longer days giving you complete days off to explore our region - we can discuss this when you arrive.

Our children have both grown up and are working overseas at the moment. So there is just the two of us and our black lab Stella. She loves people so if you are not fond of dogs this may not be the helpx for you. Murray works fulltime in the bush and Delwyn part time at the local college.

Taupo is in the Central North Island, a beautiful tourist destination on the edge of a big lake, with plenty to do. Check out these websites -
3 hrs south of Auckland by road, 1 hour by air
1 hrs southwest of Rotorua by road
5 hrs north of Wellington by road
from our house-
40 minute walk to town
2 minute walk to bus stop
15 minute walk to the lake

We are really looking forward to having some helpers and meeting new people from around the world.
Please email us with some information about yourself and any questions you would like us to answer.

See you soon.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use