help exchange   Host 3521
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: May to August
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3521
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 13, 2016

I need some help in the garden and around the house.
Please note that I cannot afford to host for more than 3 weeks.

In the garden I grow only using organic methods. I have a vegetable garden and polytunnel, help there is needed during the months from May to August.

Someone with experience in restoration and maintenance of old houses and general construction/maintenance work would be very welcome. I need to do some minor plumbing and electrical jobs and attic insulation, and some painting: sanding wooden floors in two rooms and treating with a special eco oil, painting ceiling and walls.

I do not have a television but have books.
I rarely listen to the radio, and I love the sounds of the nature around me.
I love good food, I cook for a living, and eat mainly vegan but I am not terribly strict about it (cannot give up butter...)
We will share most of the meals. When I'm not here food will be provided but you'll have to cook it yourself.
I would prefer anyone to stay at least 1 week and up to 3 weeks. Since I work odd times at the moment I am looking for someone who can be self reliant.

The amount of hours are between 3 and 5 per day, 5 days a week. In the garden it mainly consists in sowing, transplanting and weeding the veg beds,watering, and cutting the grass. This usually takes no more than a couple of hours a day. Then depending on the jobs there may be another hour or two of work. Obviously the work in the garden varies with the seasons.

The accommodation is in the spare room in the house with a trundle bed (sleeps 2 people).
If you prefer and have your own tent/van you can stay in the garden :)

I would also expect help in the house for what concerns the areas used in common (i.e. washing up dishes and keeping kitchen clean, taking turns in cleaning bathroom, the obvious things when people share a space).

You'll probably end up spending a lot of time on your own, so you need to be fairly independent and able to cook your own meals.
The house is about 6 miles/ 8 km from Baltimore, a sea side village, very lively in the summer, totally quiet in winter. There is no public transport close to the house. The closest town is Skibbereen - about 4 miles/ 6 km

I can only accommodate 2 people at a time.

If you are here to learn English this is not the best of places, as it is not my first language.

About the photos:
1.the sea water lake at the bottom of the hill, 10 minutes walk
The house
The polytunnel under the snow (very unusual!)
Me washing spinach in Nepal...
Rowan, the dog who loves sitting in boxes :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use