Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35311
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 70
Persons: Any
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 35311
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 13, 2016

We are big, friendly family lucky enough to live on a beautiful 170 acre property in the Far North, about 30 minutes from Kerikeri. We have 4 awesome kids that live here with us on the farm.
We have a few farm animals - Highland cattle, Arapawa sheep, dogs, horses, chickens, ducks, and there is also 100 acres in covenanted native bush with streams, tracks, a small Kauri stand, Kiwi, glowworms and heaps more!
We have been here 2 years and have put in a large organic vege patch, extended the orchards, landscaped the yard and converted the old goat shed into a second house, cut tracks in the bush. We do our best to be organic and sustainable in all areas, though we treat this as a commitment rather than a rule - ie we will drench a sheep if it is clearly unwell (hardly ever!)
In addition to these projects we have a heap of firewood to move, cut and store, as well as general maintenance and improvement around the house, farm and bush. With so much to do and little ones underfoot we have decided we could use some help! In exchange for your time you would have use of the second (3 bedroom) house which is not completely finished (paintwork etc to finish) but has everything that you will need (power, hot water, kitchen, tv, fireplace).
We are happy to share meals (vegetarian/gluten/dairy free probably okay just check), or you can make your own using produce from our gardens/freezers etc if you prefer. We enjoy healthy food, and when we have time we like to make wine, cider, fermented drinks and foods, preserves, sauces etc.
We easy going and pretty flexible we are happy to work with you to figure out how you would like to maximize your stay...there are beautiful beaches, forests, rivers, waterfalls etc around here, or you may prefer outdoor work, indoor work, hanging with the kids, doing stuff in the kitchen, working by yourself, privacy in your spare time, integrating with the family, a bit of each...whatever works! We do ask that it works out to 4-5 hours per day.
We have wireless internet at the main house, it has limited data but emailing is fine and you are welcome to use our computer during the day.
We can pick you up from the bus at Kerikeri/Kaikohe, and we usually go past the local Okaihau shops several times a week with kids activities, but it is best to bring everything you need as the supplies there can be limited and sometimes we stay home for a week or more at a time.
We will probably be able to help you do at least 1 activity as we go past some fantastic spots when dropping off/picking up the kids, but otherwise it will be kicking back and enjoying all the awesomeness our property has to offer.
We are very excited to meet new people and to share stories, experiences and our little piece of this amazing country :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use