Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 3535
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Not August
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 - twin room
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 3535
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 10, 2017

We are looking for help starting the 20th January for a week or so. We need help looking after our dogs and some general sorting out of the garden and house now that the B&B is closed for a couple of months.

Situated in a small village in the middle of the Madiran & St Mont wine regions of South West France & close to Pau, Tarbes & the Pyrenees. We have local shops, a bar and swimming pool (jul/aug only) within a short walking distance.

I am english and my partner, Jean Pierre, is french. He speaks very little english, so ideally we are looking for helpers who have a reasonable grasp of french, but he has the patience of a saint when I am grasping with the language !!

Current tasks/ work in hand : dog walking, feeding the animals as well as painting and tidying up the garden .

For some light relief, we have three dogs; one lurcher/lab cross (Poppy) who loves everybody, but is getting on a bit and needs exercising gently, and two, seven year olds (Mutley and Jess) who are always up for a walk (ok, as one of our helpers said, they are completely crazy!), but you need eyes in the back of your head in case there are deer around.

We are looking for people willing to work around 4 or 5 hours a day with a day off a week but we are very flexible if you want a few days off together to explore the area or go away for a few days.

There is plenty to do locally and the mountains (skiing/ walking) are about an 90mins drive away and Spain around two hours. The region is famous for its festivals (Jazz in Marciac, country music in Mirande to mention two), wine festivals in the spring and autumn and local fetes in most villages and towns in the summer.

You own transport is advantageous if you want to go exploring, but there is a good bus service from Riscle (8km from here) to Tarbes, Pau and Mont de Marsan with onward connections by train to Bordeaux, Toulouse and beyond.

There is space for one or two people sharing a twin room. This may be a guest room or if full, I have another bedroom downstairs with a shared bathroom, or there is tented accommodation in the summer if you prefer!

All meals with wine are included. Please let me know if you have any allergies or food dislikes. It helps with the shopping ! Vegetarians are very welcome as we often have vegetarian meals. Helping with preparing evening meals is always welcome !

As I say above, the ability to speak some french is preferable. We also have a varying number of lodgers/ guests who tend to be french and speak little or no english. It's a great opportunity to practice your conversation skills !

We can collect you from the bus stop at Aire sur l'Adour, Nogaro, Riscle or Maubourguet.

We look forward to welcoming you to our home!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use