Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35631
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Calvi Dell'Umbria
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 35631
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 31, 2015

Dear All, I am Michele 36 years old, I am living alone in my country house located between Otricoli and Calvi Dell'Umbria.

I decided to move here mainly due to work reasons. The company i am working for is based in Otricoli. Five minutes driving from my house.

I have been living in Rome untill August 2014 and i have been traveling from Rome to Otricoli every day for more then 8 years. It was not affordable in terms of stress and economic resources. Honestly i also wanted to run away from the noisy and polluted environment of the big city.

I bought the house less then one year ago, i have been working a lot on it but i still need many things to do both inside and outside the house.

Garden Working:
- create an enclosure
- take care about the vegetable garden
- work the soil to create Terraces
- scratch and paint the gate (main door)
- clean and fix the stockage area
- plant trees
- other green initiatives

- work on the internal roof
- scratch and paint the bathroom
- scratch and paint the stair steps
- paint part of the kitchen
- fix the external wall
- create the HOST room for helpers
- other nice initiatives (up to your fantasy)

I am available to build green or similar energy appliances. When i have time i do participate to voluntary projects abroad like technician.
You may read this article which talks about my last trip in India, see blog link above. Write my name or mechanical engineer into the search.

Currently i am involved in two organization in Rome, one for charity work (Orme Organization) and one for social and political events (Cittą dell'Utopia).

I am an open minded person. I have been travelling in all Europe and in many places around the world, most of the time alone.

The purpose of this announcement is both to find people that want to help with works and to share relaxing moments.

I am looking forward to meet healthy and positive thinking people.

The house is located on top of the hill, in the middle of nowhere. The nearest village is Otricoli, 5 minutes by car. It can be reached by bicycle. I have two bicycle you may use.

It will be great host someone who as his own transportation mean. (But it is not mandatory).

Anyway, the nearest stations are Orte and Civita Castellana-Magliano

- From Orte it is possible take trains to go everywhere in Italy. The station can been reached only by car and it takes 20 minutes driving. There are many trains to Rome.
Time to Rome 30 minutes. Ticket cost 4-11 euro

- From Civita Castellana-Magliano Sabina it is possible to take trains to Rome, Fiumicino Airport, Orte. It is reachable by car in 15 minutes. For sportive people it is also possible to reach the station by bicycle.
Ticket to Rome 4,5 euros, Time to Rome 1 hour (It is a "ciuf ciuf" Train)
I am available to share the car sometimes to bring people to the station or to pick up them.

Main town/city near by are Narni, Terni, Viterbo, Rome, Perugia, Florence, Rieti

In Narni Scalo there is a yoga class on Tuesday evening, i use to go almost all weeks. You may join.

Near by Viterbo there are many thermal baths. I use to go sometimes.

There is a nice archeological park (Ocriculum) to visit, 15 minutes walking from my house. See the link above (Web2).

I would like to host 2/3 people because during the day (besides in the w.e) i am not at home and i would avoid they get boring.

There are two sofa beds on the first floor (Living-kitchen room). The beds are one double and one single. I sleep on the second floor.

For summer/spring time i would like to create some wooden platforms where to place camping tends.

For "Siesta" and "Power Nap" people i have an hammock already installed.

Considering it is my first experience in hosting people in the country side the maximum time hosting will be two weeks. Then we will see.

It is a perfect place for people that want to study for exams, to write a tesis, to write a book, to read, to jog, to run, to mountain biking, to meditate, to play music, to listen music, to hike or simple to run away from the noise of the city for a while.

Internet access is limited currently. (but i will improve the situation)

Please refer to couchsurfing for references on my own.

Last thing, there are two cuts "orbiting" around the house. They do not sleep inside.

Thanks and Enjoy!


Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use