Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35646
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 35646
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 22, 2015


My name is Genevieve, I have just registered so am interested in communicating with you what our mutual skills/needs are to have some maintenance around my home covered.

I have a two storey house on the edge of the forest, with a river below. It's a serene house at the end of a no through road.

It is only hours drive from Melbourne CBD. You must have a car, and preferably something that can tow a trailer or move bits of rubbish now and then.

Each story is a self contained cottage. One of them is on airbnb (link above) for $110 a night and I have over 15 positive 5 star reviews.

I'm offering this fantastic accommodation with access to wireless internet.

The cottage is furnished, with bedding, tv, new kitchen, lounge are, desk, shower and toilet.

I also work and stay in the city, so not only will you have accommodation to yourself you will sometimes have the whole property to yourself.

It is unrealistic for me to offer food as I don't live here all the time. But the accommodation is worth more than a couple of hours work a day with internet provided, so am happy to negotiate.

I am a flexible and fair person, and will honour whatever deal we work out and even draw up an agreement to sign.

The house is up for a bit of maintenance. It needs landscaping, ground levelling, a shed put up, sanding and painting (for a start!)

I also want to establish an organic vegie garden.

I'm a writer, artist and civil celebrant.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Cheers Genevieve

Below is my airbnb blurb;

My place is a bit quirky and rustic but clean and comfortable. It has a new fully equipped kitchen, WIFI, huge flat screen TV and everything you need.
Sheets, soaps and towels provided.

Nature is paradise. You have to see it to believe it.

Let yourself have a well deserved break in this peaceful apartment, overlooking nature's bounty.

Open plan style rustic home - I'm the last house on the forest edge, in front is just river, forest, animals, birdlife and walking tracks. Yet 5 minutes walk to the town centre.

The retreat is self contained with a private entrance on the second level of a country home.

From every window there are stunning views of the local Australian Bush. On the large balcony Kookaburra’s will visit you and if you’re lucky you’ll see Kangaroos and Wombats.

Imagine yourself looking onto the Australian Gum trees, saying hello to the laughing Kookaburra’s, hearing the Lerderderg River over rocks, in a peaceful, restful location.

Welcome to “Whalebone Retreat.” Situated at the end of a dirt road, at the edge of Wombat State Forest.

Whalebone Retreat is a self-contained open plan apartment, on the second level of a country home. The fully equipped Kitchen is brand new. The kitchen has everything you need.

The downstairs self contained cottage is occasionally rented and can be available for use on request.

Lounge /kitchen/study in one space and bedroom/bathroom in separate room.My home is professionally cleaned.
As I am an Artist it has a warm, clean, light open, eclectic feel.
If you are a small family I can organise a single mattress and/ or stretcher bed.

There is also a professional massage table for you to use.

In front of the house, a walking track leads to Blackwood Mineral Springs, with water for you to taste from the earth. There are many different bush-walking trails, for you to explore.

The outdoor area with BBQ looks out onto the Lerderderg River.
The house although at the end of a no through road, is only a 5-minute walk to the local pub and Blackwood Merchant with its gourmet pizza and delicious meals.

Blackwood is in the middle of nowhere but is the centre of everything:

You will need a car to make these memorable short drives:
10 mins drive to Trentham Falls, and country town with award winning café’s, art and antiques.
20 mins drive to Daylesford, the Spa Centre of Victoria. Experience Hepburn Bath House, The Chocolate Factory, The old railway and markets, award winning restaurants, wineries and more.
20 mins drive to Kyneton’s restaurants and art galleries and antique stores
20 mins to Woodend, the gateway to the Macedon Ranges, and Hanging Rock
Note: Nearest Railway is Ballan Station 15 mins drive. Or take a bus To Trentham, from Woodend Station. I will try to organise lifts where possible.
Mobile phone coverage is poor. Depends on coverage but mostly you will need to drive up the hill to get it. Internet is great though.
Tea, Coffee milk and local eggs provided.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use