Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35667
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Ross on Wye
All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 (or a couple)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35667
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 24, 2017

Is there anybody out there who is available throughout June 2017 to help me out? I broke my collarbone and it is slow to mend. Yolande is away in NZ caring for her father and I cannot keep up with the garden. It is very frustrating. I'm looking for somebody who can tend the garden. Planting out, weeding and general maintenance, We're really experimental in what we grow and how we grow it so it would be a great experience for somebody into that sort of thing. And if you can help around the house that would be even better. I am happy to train you and it's good fun!

Andrew and Yolande live in Howle Hill, which is 3 miles south of Ross-on-Wye in Herefordshire. Our property is in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is close to the Forest of Dean, Monmouthshire (Wales) and Gloucestershire.

Yolande and Andrew are well seasoned travellers who have helpxed around the world. We have a low-impact, sustainable lifestyle and philosophy by growing our own food and trying to re-use, recycle and reduce non bio-degradable waste. We also try to use as much natural energy as possible to heat our home and water such as solar panels and wood. And, because we have a septic tank - we use home made natural cleaning products. Therefore, we ask people who live in our home to join us in living a low-impact lifestyle.

In exchange for 5 hours a day for 5 days a week, the Helpxer(s) have access to:
- three vegetarian meals a day (if you want to eat meat you will need to buy your own)
- comfortable furnished bedroom
- large kitchen with 8-burner range, cupboards and fridge
- washing machine
- good sized lounge with comfortable sofas and log-fire
- large outdoor patio area
- plenty of off-street parking.

Our expectation is the Helpxer(s) will work 25 hours a week and have two days off. Together, we will agree the working schedule for the week and talk about the jobs on a daily basis. Please note that we are also an 'Organic Homestay' (B&B) so we often have paying guests with us. Therefore, we ask our helpers to be respectful towards guests' privacy.

Our house is situated close to many local walks, cycle tracks, ancient woodlands and the River Wye so it would suit someone who enjoys being in nature. Please note we don't have a television. However, we do have unlimited broadband. Depending upon your network, mobile phone reception can be problematic.

Also, please note that we are not on a public transport route. The nearest shop is 3 miles away. And, because we live in the countryside, there is no street lighting or light pollution. Howle Hill is a very quiet neighbourhood.

Yolande and Andrew are avid foragers so the Helpxer(s) are very welcome to join us, and help us make homemade breads, preserves, wines and ciders.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use