Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35791
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: September- May
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 35791
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 7, 2017

We re looking for help for September to the end of October, 2017....

We're lucky enough to live in a beautiful landscape with a good community spirit. You will be helping with some unusual structures, either permanent or sculpture to take to events. Essentially part of our aim is to create an arts Centre, retreat and sculpture trail with a focus on the natural environment. My partner Jessica myself and our two children Archer and Tallulah, aged 6 and 9, are situated in a beautiful valley just up from Bantry Bay in the Cork and Kerry mountains, 5 minutes from the sea with stunning views. My partner Jessica, is an environmental scientist and educator as well as a vegetarian chef. When I'm not constructing our living space I spend my time creating sculpture and designing spaces. Projects are realized with the use of practical skills such as metalwork and carpentry.
During the summer we go on the road creating installations whilst running a cafe at events. We live in a rather unusual structure, next to an old farmhouse (The grandma's house)on 5 acres of land, with the Coomhola river running past the property.

I am looking for some skilled or semi-skilled help, (definitely capable) to assist with projects. Being innovative and willing to take on tasks independently and with good common sense is very important! So artists are welcome!

Other tasks here may include stone wall building, helping with wooden structures and possibly assisting with the creation of new sculpture.
There is a small stone Annex built by volunteers for volunteers with a kitchen and sitting area - If there are only one or two volunteers this will be the accommodation but if there are a few, Accommodation will be in caravans with compost toilet and the use of the stone cottage for hanging out and cooking when necessary.! There is also internet. The owner of the land and mother in law is director of Wwoof Ireland- world-wide volunteers on organic farms. So we have had many volunteers helping...and most have loved it here!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use