Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 35922
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35922
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 13, 2018

Hi, my name is Kate. I own a small property which is located above Tahunanui beach in Nelson, with beautiful views, sunsets and 10 minutes walk to the beach. I am trying to convert the under utilised land, using permaculture principles, into terraces with fruit trees, berry bushes and flower, culinary herb and vegetable plantings. I'm aiming to create a sustainable permaculture way of life close to the city.

Over the past three years, with lots of wonderful help from my family, friends and Helpx, I've managed to finish off two terraces and we now have an amazing chicken run, lawn with fruit trees (plum, apricot, pear, apple and fig) planted, an avocado grove and strawberries, blackberries and raspberries planted, plus some vegetable production. There are some quirky features including re-using old concrete laundry tubs for herbs and leafy vegetables and a colourful wooden container for the strawberry patch.

Our eco-designed home is six years old (completed in March 2012). It was built on the existing foundations, after a house fire destroyed our original weatherboard house just before Christmas in December 2010. Many hours of work and have gone into the redesign, rebuild and cleaning and restoration of contents. It has truly been a labour of love and heartache.

The house is very warm, with all day sun, wood burner in the winter and has a lovely ambience. There's plenty of outdoor space with large deck, outdoor seating and lovely garden. The gardens are now more established.

We have chickens and bantams and a very playful hypoallergenic cat with velvet coat instead of hair.

Help is needed in landscaping, gardening and housework around the home. 4-6 hours of enthusiastic energy, depending on the type of work, your skills and pace, plus helping with preparing meals, dishes etc. Depending on when I have to work, there will be more time spent some days on a project and other days less time. There is the opportunity to plan for full days off so you can explore the region. An industrious and positive work ethic is a really important part of contributing as a Helpx. Usually I'm looking for 1-2 people who can stay 10 days-2 weeks or longer if that works.

It's great to have an extra pair of hands to help with all sorts of stuff: cooking, cleaning, feeding the animals, watering the garden. There is also a range of smaller jobs which need doing depending on your skills and what you like to do including: weeding, cleaning windows and walls, digging out old garden beds, mulching, chopping firewood, building an outside cabinet to store cushions in, building shelves, building steps. I love help with planning and preparing the evening meal, so if you enjoy cooking and want to share recipes from your country that is great.

There is a bus service to town and high speed internet (fibre). For health reasons our family non-smokers only please. I have a lot of knowledge about the area, particularly tramping.

We eat a predominately vegetarian and gluten-free diet. Our family values embrace striving for a sustainable lifestyle, so please only apply if you are able to respect these values. Please bring your own gardening gloves, practical outdoor shoes, hat and suitable clothes for outdoor work.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use