help exchange   Host 36004
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no,only during summer
Area (ha): around 120
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 36004
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 15, 2016

Hi everyone !

My parents have a farm in the middle of Auvergne at 1000 meters altitude. They are four to work on the farm:my mother,my father,my brother and my uncle.
You will have your own bedroom and you will eat with us. You will also have the possibility to have a bike. If you want more information after reading the rest, do not hesitate to contact us !

We are looking for someone interested and motivated in working on a diary farm, in discovering a new culture and in taking part in the daily family life (This is really important : we hosted one helpers last summer, and she was not really talkative and really distan.Since my parents doesn't speak english well, you need to speak some basic french in order to have some interaction with them). Someone skilfull would be great since you are probably going to work with animals, but also in the garden and in the house.

About the family: We are a family of six.My father (57 years old), my mother (50 years old) and one of my brother live in the house.I (21 years old) come only during holidays. I did last year an helpX exeperience in finland and it was awsome (Btw, I'm rigth now doing an HelpX in Iceland). That's why I convinced my parents to host helpers. My parents speak only french, and just some words of english, so if you want to improve your french, it's the good place to be.

About the work that you are going to do:
Indeed it really depends: you will have the opportunity to do lots of things. It depends of what you like and of your skills. If you have skills in gardening or if you are use to work with animals, it would be great. But if you also have some cooking skills, or with household chores it will be appreciate too. My mother has also a restaurant with other farmers.They make their own pork products and sell them on the market and in the restaurant. You will may have the opportunity to work there. I don't think that the work will be hard,and I will make sure you don't work to much. You will be able to organise your work as you wish and take free time when ever you want as far as the work is done. Personally, I will be back in the beginning of July, and my mother told me that there was plenty of things to do, so it would be great if you could help me. It 's gonna be a lot of fun :) !

About the farm: it's a farm where they produce milk.There are around 100 caws, but there are also some rabbits, some hens, two pigs, two dogs, and two shetland horses. There is also a garden with different kind of vegetables.

About the place. The farm is situated on a plateau at 25 km from the the nearest city. It's a good place to do bike and hike."Les monts du cantal" wich is a really beautiful mountain range is at one hour by car. Auvergne is a really beautiful region and you will like it if you are in love with Mother Nature. We are also close to "les gorges de l'allier" (at 15 min by car) where you can do kayaking.

Hope to see you soon !
Vidal Family !

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use