Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 36075
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: summer
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36075
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 3, 2015

We have an organic kitchen garden and a family house in a small village in Northumberland, Northern England. The main help we want is in the garden with general gardening tasks; our main project in 2015 is to paint a large fence around the garden. If the weather is fine you will be working outside, if it's raining we will find you work to do inside the house which is likely to include general cleaning, but could also be DIY or cooking for the freezer if you like cooking. We ask helpers to do 5hrs work a day for 5 days a week and have 2 days off. Also to help with washing up and cooking, and if you have any favourite recipes we would love to try them. There are two of us living here - Sandra (46) and Julian (49) and our two cats, Ollie and Lino. We are vegetarian and can cater for coeliac diets. We were helpers 3 years ago, when we had a career break, spending 4 months in France and 3 months in Italy and we really enjoyed it. We would prefer people to come for one week at a time. As we both work full-time, we will try to arrange times for helpers to visit when we are on holiday, or can take a couple of days off so we can work with you. We are non smoking and ask helpers not to smoke whilst here. We have Wi-Fi and no TV. Helpers have their own room in the house, with a sink and double bed, so ideally suits a couple, or friends who are happy to share a bed, but we can also make up a bed on the floor in the room. Sandra speaks French well and some Italian.
Our village is quite small with just a pub, a church and a small school. The nearest shop is 2 miles away, but there is an ice cream parlour with gorgeous homemade ice cream just a mile away which is nice to walk to in summer. We are 3 miles away from the beautiful Northumberland coastline with over 7 miles of sandy beaches where we like to go swimming in the summer even though the water is cold! We like hill walking and there may be an opportunity to walk with us in the Northumberland Hills, a 45 min drive away. There are also nice walks to do from the house, one of which is along the river coquet. There are buses every hour both north and south taking you to Newcastle/Morpeth to the south or Amble/Warkworth/Alnwick to the North.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use