Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 3614
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


nr Edinburgh
All Year:
Area (ha): 0.64 approx
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3614
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 25, 2018

We need someone or a couple to help with gardening from July but at all times of year. We have a pottery to get involved with too.

We'd also like you to help at the new community storehouse. A fantastic way to meet local people.

Our big old house is tucked behind the main street with frequent buses to Edinburgh.

We look for enthusiasm. Experience of gardening, building, housework and decorating is a bonus but not vital. If you are interested in local culture and history and are happy to work unsupervised, you'll be needed!

We are about 45 minutes from Edinburgh by frequent bus. Accommodation for 1 or for 2 sharing a room for 2 - 4 weeks. We provide vegetarian meals.

We are involved in our local community, a group restoring the vast Lost Garden of Penicuik (a nearby Victorian walled garden) growing food. Helpers have dug, planted, harvested, cooked and sold produce for 5 years now. We have built several hugel beds there (hugelkultur) and if anyone would like to work on these, that would be wonderful.

Jane has a pottery and often needs assistance lifting heavy clay sacks and shelves.

There is a community cinema to help with every Sunday night and a community meal every week.

We expect volunteers to work for about 4 hours each day or about 20 hours per week in exchange for bed and board. We are non smokers and mainly eat vegetarian food.

Thanks to all the great volunteers who been helping us in the last 10 years

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use