help exchange   Host 36248
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cornsay Colliery
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36248
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 5, 2016

I've created my garden behind the house, originally a piece of field. It has a partially wild look with wildlife pond and mini hayfield, Polytunnel, veg beds and a flower border. There's also a herb garden and a flower bed at the front of the house.

I'm looking for someone to help me with some heavy jobs for 2 weeks in October.

I'm a semi retired community artist, ceramicist, happy to offer some studio space or pottery or mosaic tuition.
I'm asking for one person who would enjoy gardening 4 or 5 hours per day. You would have a bedroom and private bathroom with meals or if you'd rather cook your own, that's fine.

The village, set in countryside, is a long string of houses with pub on a hill . These were left after the colliery and most of the village was demolished in the early 1960's.
There are two local nature reserves and many footpaths. There are buses from the village to Durham 8 miles away or if you walk a mile, there's a bus to Durham every 20 minutes. Durham has a world Heritage Norman Cathedral, cinema, theatre etc...
8 miles west are the beautiful Durham dales; to the north Newcastle/Gateshead are only 15 miles away.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use