Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 36339
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Sometimes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 36339
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 12, 2017

Right now, we are looking for lovely, SELF-MOTIVATED, helpers OVER 25 YEARS OF AGE, who can speak English very well.

MUST have your own car or be motivated to get out an about with public transport.

We are particularly busy at this time of our life, so we are offering a special opportunity to a special COUPLE. You can work for us for just THREE hours a day each person, 5 days a week, and buy and prepare your own food (we keep our kitchen clean and tidy and need you to do the same!!!)

We expect you to work your 5 days first, and then to take your two days afterwards.

ABOUT US: We are a friendly, informal, kid-free couple with a variety of animals to be cared for.

We are really good fun with a great sense of humour. Coley works shifts and often has to sleep in the day if he's on a night shift. Lisa is recovering from surgery and on going treatments so has to take good care of herself.

We are happy and sociable, but also need time alone and as a couple - we respect that is the same for you too.

OUR HOME: We live in a spacious and comfy, casual home with LOTS OF PETS (cats, small dogs, ponies and horses, chooks, a pig, a goat). There is a lovely garden and paddocks all around.

YOUR ACCOMMODATION: You have your own pleasant double room, there is unlimited Wi-Fi.

THE AREA: We live on the edge of the fabulous small city of Tauranga, in the Bay of Plenty. We are within 15 mins walk to some gorgeous natural hot pools, within 2.5hrs of the city of Auckland, 3hrs to the ski fields of Ruapehu or 60mins to the world class mountain bike trails of the Redwoods in Rotorua not to mention 15mins to an absolutely stunning special beach, Mount Maunganui.

THE WORK AND THE DEAL: just THREE hours ENTHUSIASTIC work a day, 5 days a week, starting at 9am so you are finished at 12 ready to carry on with your day.

We will host you very well with a warm welcome, good food and nice accommodation in a lovely, relaxing home in a fantastic location (feels like countryside, but is close to town).

Come for a couple of nights at first, to see if we fit. We really must fit and be happy all around. Then stay for as long as we are all happy.

THE WORK we need done is:

Meal prep and cook sometimes for us.

9am or earlier if you would like - Daily paddock cleaning. This isn't as bad as it sounds! Pottering about in the sun with a shovel and a wheelbarrow. Takes 1 hour to do this task each morning.

While one of you does the paddock, the other can help tidy the garden. We will show you what needs doing. We need a good gardener at the moment and can teach you how to use our 4wheeler bike to help make the job abit easier.

Daily general housework, including spring-cleaning, ironing, and decluttering of cupboards, so you need to be GOOD AT HOUSEWORK.

Daily care and feeding of cats and dogs, and horses ,feeding,grooming,tack cleaning(you must be very, experienced for riding.

Also in winter sometimes wood splitting and stacking.

Lots of other miscellaneous jobs arise each day. Your help will be greatly appreciated.

YOU AND YOUR SKILLS: This opportunity will suit GROWN UPS, who are friendly independent, organised, careful with equipment and tools, and self-motivated.

We need people who get up in the morning and are ready to start helping by 8-9 am. People who are mature and experienced enough to work under their own steam, and wise enough to ask when unsure!

You need to be happy with the tasks listed above, and well able to do several of them. We will provide you with a list to work from if we are out at work, so you don't feel at a loss. We need you to be able to get on with the tasks independently if we are out working.

THE ANIMALS: You need to really like animals, These are an important part of our lives! We adore them. The cats and dogs live in the house.

IMPORTANT: We are very busy people who need HELPERS, NOT COUCHSURFERS! Please only come if you are a proactive person who will get on with the work and are EXPERIENCED with all kinds of animals, housework, vegetarian/ vegans cooks are welcomed!NON-SMOKERS ONLY.Please provide your own alcohol.

We look forward to having a great and helpful time hosting you very well!


Lisa and Coley

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use