Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 36487
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Three quarter acre
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36487
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 15, 2018

We are sorry we are unable to host any Helpers at this time.

If you are looking for a place near Rotorua join Margaret and Owen at Lake Tarawera in a 61 yr. old cottage with an unattached separate sleep out where you would stay. The sleep out has a double and single bed, toilet and shower.(Photo 4).

We are about a 25 minute drive from the closest shops at Rotorua, a thermal tourist area. Own transport is essential as there is no bus service out here. Make sure your fuel tank is near full.

Rotorua is on the 'Pacific Ring of Fire' making it an active geothermal area. There is an abundant list of outdoor activities available such as tramping, camping, kyaking to name a few. Adventure tourism is an added attraction for many. If you seek a night on the town there is that as well.

We live across the road from the lake. We started a organic community garden on the lake edge reserve growing vegetables, flowers and a community spirit. We live a simple laid back lifestyle offering healthy food and living. Our home garden is mostly dedicated to growing flowers. Our section also has a spectacular glow worm grotto set amongst tall tree ferns. We back onto a native forested reserve.

Owen grew up on a dairy and sheep farm near Auckland. I have also worked as a cinema projectionist, limbing trees in a forest and as part time baking bread. Margaret (my wife) and I owned and operated a signwriting business for thirty years. In later life I became involved in television production both studio and field work including electronic news gathering.

Margaret did secretarial work for many large companies in Auckland. She lived in London for two years which included travelling through Europe.

We were married in 1971 and have two adult children. Our son lives in Auckland, our daughter on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland Australia.

Our pet cats have sadly died. We have yet to replace them in order to protect bird life.

We are seeking helpers to work four hours in return for three meals and lodging per day. Work hours are flexible. You may work a full day if you wish to have a day off.

There are several projects. For example. Painting a fence. Assist in garden maintenance. Maybe some firewood cutting. Making coloured bricks for driveway. Reforming the track to the glow worm grotto. Work in the community garden.

We are more than willing to show you how to use tools and how to go about the jobs we ask you to do.

Non smokers please.
We're very sorry but we may not be able to cater for some vegetarian or vegan type diets. Please check first.

internet, wi-fi but not for downloading copyrighted material.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use