Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 36583
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Nerja
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 36583
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 25, 2018

We are an English/Spanish family living close to Maro, Nerja on 2HA right by the sea in one of the only sections of undeveloped Andalucian coast. We also have a new project, a new fruit tree finca also of 2HA, a 30min drive away.

For 6 years we’ve been organically growing tropical fruits and vegetables, commercially we are very small scale, which is why we occasionally take volunteers instead of paid labor. Both myself and my partner Ela have part time external work.

We try live with low impact and to work in harmony with nature to create diversity and abundance, to live mostly self sufficiently in terms of food, and solar energy. We're not religious or into any cult, we believe in healthy living, with respect to one another and the planet.

We mostly live outdoors thanks to the climate here, papayas are the proof of this wonderful climate. Our main 'living' area being the kitchen with no walls, and a terrace overlooking the sea.

Visitors/helpers stay in a large Bell Tent, with views out to sea. The sea being only a stones throw away. We are building a wooden cabin and kitchen to provide additional accommodation and enable helpers to be more independent.

In the vicinity there are other people renting and living off the land, so a thriving eco-neighbourhood is developing.


Our main fruit trees are chirimoya, avocado, mango, banana, papaya, though we have some of nearly everything. We grow a diverse range of vegetables.


I normally work alongside helpers and we normally only work mornings 5 days a week. Maintenance work with existing trees, pruning, composting, mulching and clearing weed growth. With the new Finca we have many trees to plant and an eco-construction project. There is always work to do on the vegetable plot.

I don’t expect people to work as many hours as myself, but I do expect people to be enthusiastic , motivated and reasonably capable. We only take volunteers with experience of land based work and a passion for plants/trees and sustainable agriculture. They also need to be fit and reasonably strong as land based work is physical.

We also require helpers to be sufficiently independent as we are quite busy with family life and sometimes external work.


It’s not all about work, there is good snorkeling, diving, kayaking, fishing… Also there are wonderful hikes in the mountains immediately inland without the need of a car. This is the Sierra Almijara with 1800m peaks. There is good rockclimbing nearby and I try to find the time to do this at least once a week.

Maro is 10 min walk away, both Malaga and Granada less than an hour by car. The farm is easy to get to with public transport.

We prefer for people to stay for a good length of time. Please don't contact me unless you are able to stay at least 2 weeks.


For the right person/couple/family there is an opportunity for to stay long term..

We look forward to hearing from you.

Benja


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use