Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 36953
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36953
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 6, 2018

Situated in the beautiful Motueka Valley we are busy finishing our home and permaculture orchard and garden and need your kind assistance. We enjoy meeting enthusiastic folk who are friendly and hard working. We are a husband and wife team with two young children.

Generally our helpers give us about 5 hours each day in a basic exchange for 3 meals and a comfortable bed. However many have given us so much more and are driven not just by the tasks (or hours) but also learning that comes with it --- a huge thanks!! We are certainly not experts, but have returned this generosity with a cultural and education exchange which might include gardening and permaculture, wood and metal working, painting, making bread, preserving food, making fermented drinks, eco house design principles and implementation, technology for energy production and efficient energy usage, electronics and arduino automation and control, learning how to play piano and violin ... and more!

We are 20 minutes drive from the Abel Tasman walk, and about 8 minutes from Motueka township. The property is surrounded by amazing views and beautiful nature, and walking distance to the Motueka river.

We would appreciate your helpful contribution in the areas of weeding gorse, scrub cutting grass and scrub, weeding the vege garden, staining and painting and doing some hours in the common orchard which we share as part of an eco village setup. Along with this would be helping out in the house where needed, kitchen work like cooking, tidying, cleaning, dishes and best of all entertaining the kids.

Our best experiences have been with helpers who have become an extension of our family, those who are motivated to learn and conscientious in nature.

We are meat eaters, but we do so in moderation and often have it only as part of a bigger meal (but usually its mixed into the meal). All food is locally sourced where possible. Depending on arrangements and timing, we might be able to accommodate special dietary requirements. Please let us know what these are so that we can consider them.

Sorry, we aren't able to accommodate smokers or pets.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use