Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37027
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ourique
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.3
Persons: 1/2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37027
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 14, 2018

Situated in a rural SOUTHERN ALENTEJO, but not isolated location near Ourique in a valley close to the Barragem Monte do Rocha. Good road links at Ourique from main road and motorway networks and main line rail link at Funcheira station near Garvao 7kms away.

Please note we are nowhere near Porto - Algarve (South) 1hour driving and Lisbon 2 hours driving (North)

Looking for immediate help, We are keeping on top of day to day running but need help with extra projects, one being a structure to home our fruit bushes so carpentry skills might be useful. Mechanical expertise would be especially welcome.


Not under the Tuscan sun, but the beautiful Alentejo region of Portugal (See the video `Cork in a bottle` on-line)

If you are thinking of leaving the stress of nine to five in city life and have an idea of living in the country and growing your own food - maybe you would like to spend some time with us. You will learn the good and not so good points of living off the land, find out if you have what it takes in a try before you buy.

We are now our 15th year here and have weathered many storms, literal and emotionally, but have managed to create something unique which has now been recognised with our new venture supplying produce to a high end (one of the worlds top 50) restaurant weekly. This season we are supplying a second restaurant.
So now we need to focus our efforts and would love for helpers who would really like to learn what it takes and share our beautiful location.
Whereas before we hoped maybe to find somebody retired who might like a long term home, now we are looking for some body with dynamism and enthusiasm to help us take this project forward. The business is up and running, from a base of zero capital. We struggled last year and put everything back in. We ourselves work long hours, every day of the week, this is reality of running any farming unit. As yet we don`t pay ourselves a wage, Maybe in the future but there is still much to invest to really keep this project alive and moving forward. Do you want to be there with us, become part of the family and maybe in the future partner us? This is a unique opportunity for somebody to walk into something already established and help make it a success.

We are 57 and 86 and have our disabilities but keep ourselves fully occupied. We try to enable our helpers to leave here with plenty of knowledge/skills and as life long friends.
We still attend the university of life and have developed many skills along the way, which help us to focus outside the box when problems need to be solved. We are innovative and creative, love life, music, art, books and learning something new each day.

We have several gardens, set in a 1.3 hectare olive grove, with chickens and ducks, 2 barmy dogs and nutty cats. Plus all the wildlife that moves in at times.
We have just completed, with help from our recent volunteers, putting up a new tunnel and recovering our older one and getting down to planting.

the Guest accommodation is nice and the food you can experiment with is the freshest you will get anywhere, straight from the garden. One recent guest sent a photo to her mum saying she felt like a celebrity chef, with a view from her cooker across the countryside with Nightingales singing.

The room (with en-suite shower room) is set up to sleep 2 people but we have also created - with the help of our guests - the elevated yurt, with comfortable double bed, if you like a slightly posher style of camping. This is not suitable though in the heat of summer until we can insulate the roof!

Sorry but I do not cook for others, my life is too hectic.
Facility is provided for cooking but you will get your own meals, as and when you need to eat.
During the winter helpers have enclosed the terrace to make a dedicated but simple kitchen area and the room has a small wood burning stove to keep it cosy, collecting firewood is something to be enjoyed while walking the dogs maybe...
Our recent guests have found our internet good and have been taking on-line courses during their own time.
We are Solar powered with a large back up Generator (currently out of commission but have invested in a smaller version until we can find a technic to sort out the big one). You can learn a lot about renewable energy during your stay. While we have a normal household you will need to be aware of energy usage and bear with us about what can and cannot be used.

We are a little isolated from the town so own transport is needed if you want to explore further afield. Trips to the town or to local market are sometimes possible, depending on room in our vehicle. Cars are not available to rent in OUrique, possibly available at Beja or Milfontes on the coast. if you need one best to rent before you come via Algarve or Lisbon.

Ideally we would love to have somebody on a longer term basis, maybe somebody early retired, but short term and students are also welcome.

The weather this year is strange with hot and very cool spells. At times we can do a lot outside, at others we have to just chill out, this is why own transport helps so you can take off to beach or explore during afternoons.

Most days we work a few hours in the morning. Break when it gets too hot then re-start around 6.30 of the evening. Days off need to be arranged - we are flexible but not on Tuesday or Wednesdays, these days we are picking and delivering.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use