help exchange   Host 37205
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1+
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37205
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2017

My husband (Keith) and I (Helen ... Aitch) have lived permanently in France since 2004. We live in an 'ex dairy farm' house and have about a hectare of land including a little woodland that runs down to the river.
The house has a history dating back to the Revolution in the late 1700's and is in the heart of rural Normandy. We are deep in the Normandy countryside and very tranquil.
Most of the land is used for our pet animals (mostly rescued), 2 donkeys, 4 sheep, 2 geese, 5 ducks and 4 chickens. We have a tortoise, 5 house dogs, 5 'garage' cats, 2 outside cats and 1 house cat.
I am vegetarian, my husband is a meat eater (and also the chef).
We teach English to foreign students during the school holidays ... ages range from 11 to 60 and they can stay with us for a couple of days or up to 6 weeks.
I am interested in art (and have a studio), ceramics, photography, animals, nature. My husband shares my interest in nature and animals and also plays badminton and football (March to October). We go swimming weekly.
There are lots of sites of interest to visit and we are about 3/4 hour from the beautiful beaches near Granville. We are also close to WWII 'beaches' and other WWII sites of interest, Mont St. Michel, Fosse Arthur, Domfront (Medieval Castle), Nature Park at St. Hilaire du Harcouet and throughout the summer there are music festivals and gigs.
We are on the borders of Brittany and Pays de Loire.
We have WiFi, Wii, Playstation, Table Tennis, Gym (with treadmill, rowing machine, multi-gym and more), English and French TV, pool table.
The bedroom can be either a single or twin and it has it's own shower/toilet/wash-hand basin.
We have a caravan that two people can share if they'd like and we have a 'cabin' (with basic amenities) that will take one or two people if peace and quiet is what you desire.
There is a golf course nearby, fishing, horse riding along the golden beaches overlooking Mont St. Michel, Karting at Mortain, Multi Swimming Pool at Vire, Cinema (England and/or French).
We would like help with the land (clearing brambles for example), renovation work (after storms or high winds, both of which we seem to get in abundance), daily chores with the animals (feeding, watering, mucking out), clearing and cleaning inside the farm house.
It is difficult to define all the work that we do here. Every day produces it's own challenges and no two days are alike.
We have bikes for those who would like to explore the surrounding countryside.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use