Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37221
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.2
Persons: 2-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37221
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 16, 2015

Aves Garden is a small farm in Woolsthorpe near the Great Ocean Road and Warrnambool.

We have 8 acres of gardens, pasture, orchards, and large, stocked dam surrounded by farmland. We grow fruit and vegetables using organic methods and we’re establishing a poultry hatchery specialising in free-range geese, ducks, turkeys and chickens. That means we eat lots of eggs and dairy products.

We have dogs, alpacas, poultry, rabbit and a sheep and a mixed orchard with various heritage fruit trees. If you are frightened of or uncomfortable with animals touching, licking, jumping or interacting with you, this is probably not the best farm for you. Our animals are not in cages and will want to get close to you, because they regard all human beings as 'friends'.

Work here is seasonal, including landscaping, orchard/garden maintenance, construction, food preservation, wood collection and stock husbandry. That means cleaning up poo and straw and spilt food and mud. It can be dirty work sometimes. You will need to bring work/rubber boots.

Spring time here is sometimes cold and wet and sometimes it is warm and dry. All of our baby geese, ducks and turkeys are hatching in Spring, so it is a busy time. Some of the babies need extra help and care, so extra help now is greatly appreciated. There are heaters and electric blankets in the rooms and all helpers stay in the house.

Accommodation in house for 2 couples or 3 singles. Internet/WiFi available. Transport to Warrnambool provided 2-3 times per week with activities including whale-watching, beach/surfing, bushwalking and sightseeing. Mixed diet provided. We are able to host helpers for second WHV.
We don't have restrictions on food and love to swap recipes and cook for each other, although this isn't essential.

We are committed to a cultural exchange experience and are excited to have you cook for us too, as well as to learn about your beliefs, values and experiences, if that is something you would like to share with us.

We are a same-sex couple and expect that you will be OK with that.

Hardworking, open-minded helpers preferred.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use