Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37288
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha): 3/4 acre
Persons: 1 or 2 people
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37288
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 1, 2018

I live on a 3/4 acre property about 20 minutes drive from Tauranga in a rural area with 11 year old twin boys Daniel and Michael. I am about 5 km from SH 2 and can pick people up from there if you do not have your own transport. I have a tenant on the property that lives in a little cottage with 2 girls one older and one younger than my boys. We have a little community! We eat mostly out of our own garden or on local produce from our neighbourhood.

We have a young lush food forest with fruit trees and medicinal herbs, vegetable gardens, chickens, and 2 cats. My tenant has chickens, quail a cat and a dog! I am gradually putting the principles of Permaculture into practice to live more sustainably. There are quite a few like minded people in the area and our small community hall is often buzzing with events such as Harvest Festival.

I have a guest room with a double bed and shared bathroom. There is also internet access for basic internet use.

Currently there is lots of gardening to be done (weeding, planting and mulching). Sorting out the play house etc. Garden art to be made (signs etc). Harvesting and preserving food. Also cooking and baking since I get sick of my own cooking! Mowing lawns and house cleaning.

I am flexible with when you can work, generally mornings work best if we are doing activities together. I require 4 hours work per night you stay in return for food, accommodation and basic internet use. You are welcome to do extra hours on some days so that you can have days off. I can accommodate vegetarian, vegan or raw food diets as well as meat eaters (especially if you prepare the food!). Non-smokers only please.

Ideally you are outgoing and enjoy interacting with children as my kids enjoy talking with adults. You should be willing to do indoor or outdoor work, be mature and stay about a week.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use