Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37290
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4 acres
Persons: 1or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37290
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 5, 2015

We live on a beautiful rural property only 10 minutes from the vibrant city of Hobart. We are in the process of setting up a small hobby farm, but we have a lot of work to do before we can start to produce. Our home is very small (1 room for a family of 5!!) but we have a separate caravan for guests to use. We have three young girls, Willa is 3, Miriam is 5 and Romily is 7 and a gentle old dog called Toby.

Sophie works full time in an equity project at the University, and Matt is at home full time, caring for our girls, working on the land and building our home! He is a qualified carpenter, and the renovations are being done as sustainably as possible with lots of recycled materials.

Workers would be involved in tasks such as large scale weeding and land management, some help with renovations, fencing, cooking and general house duties. For full board and all meals we would expect approximately 4 hours a day. There is always lots to do here, but we hope that helpers can be independent workers most of the time, to enable Matt to focus on his own work too!

You can read more about our home projects here:

We all love having guests, but you will need to be fairly independent, as our home is so small! The caravan is cozy and clean with a small kitchen, but at this stage helpers will share our bathroom.

Breakfast would be provided in the caravan, and some help with lunch and dinner preparations would be fantastic! We are not vegetarian but would be happy to eat vegetarian to accommodate our guests.

Helpers will need their own car or strong legs to ride one of our bikes (The hill to our house is quite steep! ), as there is no public transport here.

We look forward to hosting you soon! We have previously hosted on couchsurfing, so you can see references for us there- Matt and sophie Calic.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use