Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37333
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 9
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37333
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 8, 2016

We are an olive and almond farm ( recently we have been planting pistachios) in the countryside 10 minutes from the nearest village. The landscape around about is typically mediterranean with hills, rocky outcrops, rivers, and groves of olives, almonds and even peaches and fields of wheat, all interspersed with mediterranean forests , where rosemary, thyme and mediterranean orchids grow. On the horizon, about 15 kms, is a mountain range of spectacular rock formations, called Los Puertos ( or Els Ports). We are at 500 metres above sea level, so the climate is a high mediterranean one, with hot summers, and frosty winters. The building is an old 'Masia" or farm house, made from sandstone, and earth. The main body of the building is in a good state structurally but there is still a lot of work to do. We have replaced some of the beams and laid floors of limecrete topped with lime mortar and marble dust. We are repointing the old walls, some with lime and small stones, and some with cob/ mud. There are other outbuildings in a less good state which we are repairing and repointing. The farm has dry stone wall terraces, which we are repairing and rebuilding.

We are two guys in our 40's. We have a small dog. We are mostly vegetarian but do occasionally eat fish and meat.

Currently we are rebuilding and restoring the house and outbuildings using traditional as well as new eco sustainable techniques. We are looking for people to help who are interested in this, and even better have some knowledge, so that we can learn from each other. It would be ideal for anyone studying such things who is looking for some practical knowledge involving renovation and construction. Most of the work is using the local sandstone, with clay, sand and hemp-fibre mortar for rebuilding dilapidated areas. We are also strengthening walls by repointing with lime mortar and small stones. There is also lime plastering to be done as well as building dry stone walls. We would be open to exploring other areas, such as earthen floors or clay plastering if anyone had skills in those or other areas of sustainable, ecological techniques. As well as all the above, there is always farm and garden work, caring for our organic plants and trees, and taking care of the vegetable garden. Something for everyone!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use