Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37359
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 10.5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37359
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 29, 2015

We are now seeking a live in volunteer. Basic accommodation provided in a caravan. Vegetarian lunch will be provided on workdays and breakfast (lunch on none workdays) and dinners are self catering. We hope to find someone who would like to stay for the whole of spring/summer/ but short or longer term also welcome. any long term stays would be subject to review after a trial week. Working days and hours are flexible to suit all our needs.

This farm is a 26acre small holding practising organic/natural horticulture/permaculture in a lovely setting on the Somerset/ Devon border close to Wellington. The farm is off grid with cooking facilities, cold running water in a static caravan and a tree bog. Sleeping is in a small caravan with shared use of the tipi and bell tent. Matt and I currently live in the local town of Wiveliscombe, and we can provide hot showers and internet use etc there. We visit the farm every day and camp there some nights during the summer.

We are seeking volunteers with either organic horticulture or permaculture experience or a very keen interest. Carpentry experience would be very beneficial.

Projects for this year include:
renovating a caravan to extend wwoof accommodation,
preparing tipi poles and helping to put it up,
focusing on the small veg garden and polytunnels and testing the market for a small scale veg box scheme,
Growing salads and veg for a cafe and farm shop,
Maintenance in 1year old Orchard and coppice (mulching/ pruning/soft fruits etc.),
possibly building a tool shed/ lunch shelter in orchard,
creating a solar thermal warm water system for static van,
Building solar driers for fruits and tomatoes
growing strange and unusual things just for fun,
time depending; renovating a 1963 safari caravan

We also sell homemade vegetarian food at the Wiveliscombe farmers market on Saturdays as well as doing occasional pop up cafes and street festivals. There is possibility to be involved with that also.

If you are interested in coming to meet us or have any questions don't hesitate to get in touch.

Couples/ children/ own caravan or other accommodation/ welcome

Emmeline and Matt

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use