Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37441
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37441
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 6, 2018

Our farm in the suburbs. We are five: Rob and Miranda, with children Ella (2002), Georgia (2003) and Nathaniel (2006).
We are now preparing our gardens for planting.

Our property is in the city of Launceston in northern Tasmania, on the doorstep of Tasmania’s gorgeous wilderness. We can collect/deliver you to/from anywhere in Launceston, the local bus depot or Launceston airport. While with us you need not spend another cent! We will lavish our house and food upon you and connect you to our wifi.

Our dream self sufficient lifestyle is in its infancy. Our house is a weatherboard federation cottage surrounded by newly built veg beds, new compost bins, new chook yard and orchard. Our five acre urban farm boasts chickens, sheep and goats. If you have self sufficiency/ gardening/ permaculture or farming experience to share we would love to have you stay with us.

We have guest accommodation for 1 or 2 people in a small renovated old dairy (with the bathroom shared with the main house), or a bedroom in the house. We provide full board in exchange for five hours work a day.

There are spare bikes for getting around, a bus stop just up the road and it's not too far to walk into Inveresk, the city, or seaport or the Charles street café strip (4km or 30-40mins). Cataract Gorge is gorgeous for picnics and swimming and an easy bike ride if you’re fit. Best of all its FREE!

Being both teachers (and Miranda also trying to write a book!!!) we need help to continue our self-sufficiency dream. We’re looking for helpers who know how to work. (You’ll be unsupervised when we’re at work).

Outside jobs are physical & include: Weeding, general digging/gardening, planting trees, pruning, mowing, landscaping.

We also have renovation jobs galore. Painting, plastering, prepping just to name only some. We also have carpentry jobs for anyone who knows how to build decks or frame walls.

We would also put you into our family household chores roster for washing up, cleaning the bathroom, cooking, cleaning the floors and so on. You’d be treated just the same as one of the family. We eat pretty much eat anything & prefer if you do too. (No drugs or excessive alcohol consumption!!!)

Miranda’s interests are writing, reading, the theatre, gardening and travel. Rob’s interests are Tasmanian specialty timbers, wood crafts, renovation bushwalking and canoeing

If you are an artist we’d love you to you make something to leave behind! Or if you have any special skills you’d like to offer please let us know!

If you would like to stay please contact us. Include your name and a phone number where we can contact you.Sometimes we are too busy to check emails so feel free to call or text.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use