Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37442
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Los Masos
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): large
Persons: 1 - to - 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37442
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 18, 2017

Last year (2016) was concerned with renovating the old and leaky roof, and my previous guests in 2015, who were all SOOO helpful and talented, (Andrew & Lynn - thank you both so much) were lovely company and I'm deeply grateful for all their help. Andy and Suze were also delightful and gave much pleasure with their natural enthusiasm. I also had an excellent week with a really nice guy from America. Mark was great company, absolutely reliable and so willing to help and I am very, very grateful for the efforts he made to get the roof covered before the rains came.

The property comprises a picturesque converted farm building built of wood and stone nestling in extensive wooded grounds high on the valley hillside in the Pyrenees-Orientales with awesome views of the sacred Mount Canigou, the historic village of Eus and the surrounding mountain range.

Within a walkable distance to the nearby town, an hour away from the City of Perpignan and . Mediterranean Coast, 2 hours from Andorra, less to the Spanish border, it is brilliantly situated for all kinds of activities.

In the local area you can find horse-riding, canoeing, hot-springs and thermal baths. Music and culture are widely accessible with the Pablo Cassals festival in Prades, the artistic community of Eus, walking and wine-tasting (not necessarily at the same time) and all that the ancient Catalan culture entails. Much architectural heritage in the surrounding countryside, including Walled Fortress Towns are only a 1 euro bus ride away.

In fact there is more to do and see than is possible in a single life-time. Hooray for reincarnation n'est pas??

Accommodation here can be an en-suite (double) bedroom or wild-camping in the grounds or a camper-van for those who like more privacy with internet access, electricity, hot water etc.

I am looking for some help around the estate clearing undergrowth and vegetation, cutting fallen trees for firewood and also utilising debris from the old roof to mend paths and the roadway. Clearing of the canals and improving land drainage are high priorities. There is a lot of deadwood and brush to be burned before the middle of May, so early visits are encouraged.

As an ex-helper myself I am keenly aware of the potential negative aspects of some HelpX experiences so I want to emphasise that I am looking for a mutually respectful and caring arrangement and NOT an exploitative one. Your stay should be a pleasurable experience not a labour camp nightmare. There are no minimum hours expected just a fair exchange of effort and enthusiasm.

Please do get in touch if you think you'd like to experience the French joie de vivre in a peaceful and spiritual setting whilst also contributing to the maintenance of this special place.

Smoking is NOT allowed in the house but permitted in the grounds, subject to sensible fire precautions. I quit last year so be kind, SVP.

There is a possibility of a little gratuity for work done, to be discussed in private.

After an introductory period of 2/3 days max, I would ideally like to offer a minimum of 2 weeks to a maximum of 2 month stays possible. Longer stays might be arranged by mutual agreement.

No contractual agreement is implied and any request to leave for whatever reason must be accepted without argument. (Result of bad experience)

I thought it might be a good idea to mention a few things about me that may be relevant to some people. My animal guide Puss-Cat lives here also. So probably NOT a good place for people allergic to cats.

I'm an ex-lecturer in Psychology, Human Resources and Business Admin. Also I had a Consultancy back in the UK as a Holistic Therapist with special emphasis on Healing, Life Skills and Touch Therapy.

Now in my early 60's I hope I have maintained a youthful outlook and not yet become a full time fuddy-duddy - fingers crossed.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use