Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37455
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.2
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37455
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2018

Looking for skilled/handy helpers from 20 Jan 2017

We (James - renewable energy engineer, Clare - jeweller and botanist, Neave (two year old, sleeper in training) and Mitzi (canine) - professional steak eater and wallaby chaser), bought 10 acres in Lenah Valley three years ago - which is 5km from the CBD of Hobart. Though it's very close to all amenities, it feels like our country house - completely away from the world! There's a donkey next door (Frank - who entertains us with his crazy noises), and wildlife galore!! You can have close encounters with pademelons, wallabies, possums, lots of small birds and native-hens!!!

Our aim in the near-term is to get the unit up to scratch (this is helpers accommodation - but we also hope to use it for AirBnb when it's smick), followed by projects outside where we plan to build an orchard, greenhouse and wicking garden beds. We have a sustainable lifestyle in mind, and most of our projects involve recycling timbers, using our beautiful native Tasmanian timbers, organic gardening/permaculture practices and in general treading lightly on the earth.

Help with building and renovating is required at the moment - anyone with skills or experience should DEFINITELY write to us, though we are also willing to teach where we can, and have lots of weeding to do also.

Helpers have their own space in a self contained unit - with full facilities for cooking their own meals (there's a grocer not far away for you to get supplies - we do not supply food). We would prefer to congregate hours of help to times when either of us are able to assist, which means days off to explore. Stays of around a week are good for us - but longer by negotiation. We love to host helpers who can use their initiative and take ownership of a task. :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use