help exchange   Host 37483
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37483
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 13, 2015

THE DATES: All year.

WHO WE WANT: We are looking for COUPLES OR FRIENDS ONLY, who are over 20 years of age and speak English very well. Non smokers only, please.

We need a skilled BUILDER, plumber, etc, and a domestic goddess!

We are looking for up-beat, independent, energetic, hard-working people to help us run our busy household.

ABOUT US: We are a very busy business family, of mum, dad (early 50s), thee adult sons (early 20s), and one boy (15), living at home. All of us work in our successful gift shops, except our youngest, who is still at school.

We aim to be kind and generous 5* hosts who attract the same kind of helpers. We like good food and good fun. We don’t drink or smoke. We like sociable meals, travelling, spending time with friends, cycling, tennis (court/club available), swimming in our own heated pool, and our sons are very sporty and do yoga, go to the gym, run, and so on. We have two Labrador dogs, and a Husky that need feeding, grooming, cuddling and walking daily.

Meal times are our main times for socialising as a family, and you will be treated as welcome guests. Outside of meal times we tend to follow our individual pursuits, so that’s why we think couples/friends will be happiest here; you can do your own thing and not be lonely.

OUR HOUSE: We live in a prosperous area of Melbourne, in a lovely, very large, light, spacious, beautifully furnished house with both a/c and heating. We have a gorgeous kitchcen, a pool and a pleasant, medium-sized garden. The house and kitchen are well-equipped and. We are located in the South Caulfield area of the trendy and exciting city of Melbourne.

We have bikes you can use, lots of movies you can watch, big tv screens, books, music and wifi (no downloading please).

ACCOMMODATION: We offer excellent accommodation. At first it will be in a double room, while we get an annexe refurbished. Of course, we provide nice bedding with clean duvets and good pillows!

You will not rough it here! We appreciate that you are working for us and we will relish hosting you very well indeed.

THE AREA: Our house is about 10 minutes from the nearest train station, and about 20 minutes by train from downtown Melbourne. Google things to do in Melbourne and you will find you are in for a treat in our beautiful city!

There’s a park nearby for walking the dogs, running, tennis, and so on. There is a great grocery and cafe a 5 minute walk away.

THE DEAL: We ask helpers to do 5 hrs a day, 5 days a week, plus a bit of help with meals. You must be self-motivated and genuine.

WE OFFER: We provide a very warm welcome in a very informal, relaxed atmosphere, slightly boisterous atmosphere. We also provide plentiful, tasty meals and snacks. We are very busy working so we really appreciate your help.

THE WORK: We really need good domestic help (cleaning, cooking, laundry, tidying) and gardening and dog care (feeding, grooming, walking, training, poo picking).

We may also will need help in our gorgeous gift shop, sorting merchandise behind the scenes. So there is a variety of work.

The Builder: For a qualified builder, projects include re-roofing the garage; refurbishing the annexe; removing an old bathroom and fitting the new one and tiling. Some small garden landscaping maybe.

The Domestic Goddess: Projects include de-cluttering the annexe, ready for the builder to refurbish; gardening (tidying, mowing, weeding, watering); feeding, grooming and walking the dogs daily, and picking up their poo from the garden; preparing simple lunches and dinner daily (this is really important – you will need to be a competent cook who likes that task daily. One of us is vegetarian, we are all happy to eat vegetarian meals); housework laundry and ironing, every day.

We need a motivated couple/pair who can work under their own initiative and are completely happy to take responsibility for providing lunch and dinner each day and to keep the kitchen and home clean and tidy.

If you’re interested, come and stay for a 2-3 day trial period. If we are a good fit, we like people to stay for 7-14 days. No dramas if you move on.

WHY CHOOSE US? This is your chance to stay with a fun, friendly family, learn about retail if you want, and to stay rent-free in one of the world’s most appealing cities, with a happy family.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use