Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37664
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2 hectares or 0.5 acre
Persons: 1 or 2 (kids welcome
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37664
Region: Golden Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2018

Kia Ora! My 9 year old daughter, Isla, and I live on this beautiful luscious piece of paradise!! It is a FULL organic permaculture property with amazing vege gardens and HEAPS of fruit and nut trees. We have a vision of feeding ourselves and living sustainably from the land...and we need your help to fulfill that vision. We are looking for a couple preferably or a single person to help us with building a platform deck for a yurt. We need help right now until Monday May 21. If you have building experience or skills that would be ideal. There is also a lot of general end of season garden tidy up.

We love people with a keen work ethic, good level of fitness, and some garden experience. A keen, can-do, helpful, responsible and respectful attitude is a must. Help is always needed to get the garden into shape, make a driftwood fence and furniture, weeding, build compost, and spring cleaning etc...if you have CARPENTRY or BUILDING or ROCK WORK skills to build several rock walls/retaining walls and pathways, and a few other bits and pieces that would be a definite BONUS. We also have some painting work, both indoor and outdoor that needs doing. If you want to learn and live and eat from the land then please be in touch. This would suit a couple who can work well together and independently.

We are especially calling in an experienced builder/carpenter to create a beautiful wooden platform deck with front verandah for a 5 meter yurt/tent here on the land....i'm open to ideas and suggestions. We will start this project in May/June with the actual yurt erection happening in August/September.

We are mainly vegetarian with occasional fish or meat (if it is wild caught). We eat very healthy with a whole foods diet. We aim to eat AS MUCH AS possible from the land. There is plenty here to feed us and YOU! If we can't grow it or get it locally then we try to not eat it. If you love to cook then it would be most appreciated if you could make a meal or two during or most during your stay. If you would like to share in how and what we eat then come with an open mind.

We request 30 hours work per week per person. You may work longer days in the week and have weekends or days off. We aim for Sunday as rest day. Usually, people stay for a week and they can decide how they would like to structure the work hours. Work may also be over the weekend (when I am more likely to be home) and then there may be days off during the week. If you are able to work longer days then you can have more days off, just so long as it all adds up. Depending on what projects we are working on, stays may be anywhere from a few days to a few weeks. I am flexible :)

There is a lovely stream on the property and northerly sloped aspect. We live in a lovely quiet neighborhood and are across the street from our local Marae. Pohara beach is a short stroll down the road.

We need help with building things like sheds & sleepouts, garden structures, maintaining gardens and trees, doing creative projects to enhance the natural beauty (and are functional), and generally keeping everything on the land thriving, fed, nourished and healthy. We believe that if we love and nourish our land, it will love and nurture us back. So if you are keen to share, learn, and help out we would love to host you! If you have skills in gardening, building, carpentry, design, pruning, sculpturing, painting, concreting, cleaning, or mural painting that would be a bonus, but just a keen positive attitude is enough.

We prefer to host self-directed visitors who like to work with us but can also work independently on their own. I work off the property a few days a week as a Naturopath, Herbalist, Hydrotherapist, and Bodyworker, so I am often not around. You will be working several days (if not most of the time) on your own so a keen attitude and sense of independence is very valuable. Good communication is also a bonus so we can have an arrangement that works for everyone.

We have a very tidy caravan, private accommodation area for helpers and guests.
Our home is within walking distance to Pohara beach (about 600 m away) and is near the northern end to the Abel Tasman National Park. Kahurangi National park is not far away either. It takes only 10 minutes to drive to Takaka Township but there are a few shops and restaurants in Pohara, within walking distance. The wharf is not far away for fishing and there are several more gorgeous beaches for swimming, paddling and playing! Golden Bay is filled with endless beauty to explore!

It would be helpful if you had your own transport but other arrangements can be made. There is possibly room to park up a van if you have your own sleeping zone. Smoking is ok as long as it's away from the main house and not in front of my daughter. We welcome families with kids! My daughter is young and has a bedtime so we ask that at that time all visitors also retire to their space so she is not distracted at bedtime (we have a wee house :). We have a bunny rabbit, cat, and some chickens. No dogs allowed please. WIFI is available as well.

We enjoy having people stay with us from all backgrounds and worldly locations. We look forward to hearing from you and sharing the abundance of our slice of heaven.

Arohanui! Shanti and Isla

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use