help exchange   Host 37784
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37784
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 14, 2015

What we are looking for?
Someone who would be willing to lend a hand around the house or garden in exchange for room and board. I'm pretty handy at most things however I have a long term illness which flares up from time to time. Would be great to have someone to work alongside or who could carry out tasks I am not able for that day. 3-4 hours a day.

Skills sought:
Gardening/horticulture, woodworking, painting, maintenance, outdoor clean/tidy, housework.
Skills that I can share:
Gardening, painting/decorating.

What's the house like?
There are two of us, Mark and Orla in our city centre house with small urban garden. Well 3 if you include the dog, a lovable old golden retriever. It's a large enough family home so plenty of space for you.

The house is alcohol and drug free. We have lived in house shares where alcohol and drugs have caused problems so we appreciate this being respected. One or two drinks while your are out is fine but be respectful when you get back to the house.

There is a single room for the volunteer. There are two bathrooms with full shower facilities so no queuing for the bathroom! House is warm with central heating and open fires but could do with some updating. So any skills in this area would be welcomed. Light house work also appreciated.

We have a nice urban garden that is a work in progress with vegetable beds and geodesic poly tunnel, all organic methods and mainly trial and error!

We are avid carnivores so this might not sit well with someone who is vegan or very strict vegetarian. All our food is cooked from scratch with love and we'd be delight to share that food love with you!

Cork, like!
What's there not to love! I'm a Dublin native and I emigrated here years ago to "the real capital". You can get anywhere in the city in 30-45 mins by foot. There is lots of great nightlife, a vibrant arts scene and great live music every night of the week. There is now a bike rental scheme which costs 10 euro for the year and free for the first half hour. Lots of day trips accessible via public transport, Kinsale, Blarney, Fota/Cobh. Cork is a sweet city so even if your main wish is get stuck in somewhere rural, you won't be overwhelmed by the big lights here!

Other stuff...
I speak intermediate Spanish/Castilian. I speak a bit of French and Portuguese. I used to be involved in couch surfing so I know what's involved in a cultural exchange of this kind. So hoping that we might be a good fit for someone who is a more conscious traveller who is hoping to engage in the unique experience of staying in someone's home.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use