help exchange   Host 37832
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.01
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37832
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 11, 2019

Both of my kids have moved out on their own/college. I am working full-time as well as spending 30 hours a week working on a degree online. I have two extra bedrooms and could use some help.

My primary need is yard work. I could also use some help with some patch and paint touchups in the house, simple ongoing kitchen tidying, simple cleaning.

If someone is handy/DIY, I could use help finishing a currently-unfinished closed-in garage.

You would be able to pick and choose the tasks that matched your interests and skills. Careful work and high attention to detail is more important to me than fast work.

At this time I'm not able to host someone who needs direction and supervision on a daily basis. The help I need is essentially a roomate who with basic introductions, is able to just jump in and help out, taking initiative on their own.


I am on a keto, organic, from-scratch diet that isn't everyone's cup of tea. I will provide plenty of food and snacks for you that are what you like, but it won't be anything fancy, and you'll be responsible for preparing your own food. It is easy for me to accommodate most dietary needs (gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, paleo, vegetarian, vegan, AIP, raw, etc), as long as they aren't expensive. I have kitchen equipment for dehydrating, juicing, a vitamix, etc.

We can also have an arrangement where you provide your own food, if you aren't available for the full 20-25hrs of help a week.


I have what is called Multiple Chemical Sensitivity Disorder, where I have strong reactions to chemicals. I can't have any smokers here, and no cologne or perfume, including AXE and Old Spice products. I also can't have any clothes or fabrics brought into the house that have been washed with Tide detergent. If any of your bath/beauty products have fragrance, parfum, or perfume listed in the ingredients, I have a selection of products for you to use while you are here instead.

If you smell of chemical scents when you come into the house I will have you wash your clothes and take a shower right away, but if that doesn't fix the problem, you won't be able to stay. Talk with me about the products you use ahead of time!.


Please don't leave a "footprint" around the home...e.g. if you are using the bathroom, make sure to help keep it clean. Don't make it to where anything you do makes more work for me in the end! Make it so that your presence here makes each day for me easier (and you can stay as long as you lke, then)!


I live near Baltimore, Maryland and Washington, D.C.. My local area is here is not progressive, but I am working hard to develop my little organic oasis here in the middle of it all.


The bathroom is shared with others. This isn't a party house, but get-togethers and having friends over for general merriment, movies, and games is good! NO SMOKERS or illegal drugs allowed in the house.

I have fast wifi internet, but it is turned off at night.


Before I'll allow you to stay in my home, I'll take a picture of either your passport, or your drivers license/govt ID if from the US. This is the standard of any hostel or hotel, so that criminal activity can be reported effectively. I learned the hard way that I needed to do this.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use