Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 37858
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37858
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 16, 2017

Hello happy travellers,

We are a family of 4 (4 year old boy, 9 year old girl) living 20 mins out of Hobart, in a suburban area on the edge of the bush, near a river and 5 mins from Kingston Beach. There is a major bus route nearby.

We live these principles:
Wellness: Raising healthy & well-balanced children, healthy home-cooked food, non-smoking
Sustainability: Learning to grow organic vegetables using permaculture principles, composting toilets, building with recycled materials, saving energy.
Happiness: Balancing hard work and enjoyment, community involvement, time in nature, living simply and comfortably.

Given that we are a very children-oriented family, you'll need some interest or experience in interacting with young children. My 4 year old will want to discuss dinosaurs with you, and my 9 year old will want to play the piano for you.

We would like your help with:
If you're an OUTDOOR person --
- Gardening (vegetable and ornamental)
- Fence repair
- Painting
- Path repair
- Carpenters welcome to help with renovating our studio

If you're an INDOOR person --
- Daily household tasks (dishes, washing, cleaning)
- Light childcare
- Cooking

In exchange for approx 5 hours work per day, we'll share meals, house you in our studio (detached from the house and very spacious), include you in our activities and share our wholesome family life with you.

We are experienced Woofing and Couchsurfing hosts, who are well travelled but only speak English.

Things you should know before you stay with us:

- We aren't able to show you the sights of Hobart, or drive you around etc. What we offer you instead is a genuinely rich experience of loving family life in a beautiful environment.

- Bike tourists are especially welcome!

- Minimum stay 7 nights; we want to get to know you, and you to know us! We intend for this to be as rich an experience as possible.

- You'll need to be a non-smoker, be enthusiastic about hard work, be responsible, and be excited about living sustainability.

Please apply with the words "farty frog" to indicate you've read our profile and really want to stay with us!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use