help exchange   Host 37996
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sonoma, California
All Year: June-October
Area (ha): 4+ acres-about 2 hectares
Persons: 1 to 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37996
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 11, 2019

Need help immediately, harvesting grapes and making wine.

We're a small family farm on four beautiful acres surrounded by vineyards an hour north of San Francisco. Although family, friends and neighbors stop by frequently, it’s my husband Ted, our husky dog Clara and I who live at La Bella Luce and work the property as a labor of love. We used to travel a lot and now we feel fortunate to experience so many different cultures through the globetrotters who find their way to our door. We’re looking for helpers who appreciate simple things: the sun, the soil, jumping in the pool after work and cooking in an outdoor kitchen surrounded by vegetables.

Please be willing to get down and dirty helping us with (depending on the season) any of the following: fixing irrigation, harvesting veggies, pulling weeds, painting, planting, spreading mulch, transplanting trees, building and repairing fences, pruning grapes, drying tomatoes, preserving fruits and vegetables, making wine, mowing the grass, building rock walls and yes, shoveling shit AKA: manure from our local organic dairy. Everyone helps cook and cleanup afterwards so bring your favorite recipes and/or dishwashing skills.

We supply food, laundry, lodging, wifi and transportation into town once a day. We also drop off at the Sausalito Ferry once a week for those who want to visit San Francisco. We work four to five hours a day five days a week. Accommodations are two guest rooms that share the same bath.

We`re sorry but we cannot accommodate dietary restrictions. Although we`re not entirely vegetarian, we eat and serve very little meat and try to stay away from animal products and processed foods in general. Our menu consists mostly of whole grains, seasonal fruits and vegetables we grow organically on the property or buy locally (although we do confess to an occasional donut splurge).

We don`t allow recreational drugs or smoking of any kind.

Feel free to ask questions. If you request to be hosted, PLEASE INCLUDE THE ESTIMATED DATE OF YOUR ARRIVAL AND THE LENGTH OF TIME YOU`D LIKE TO STAY. If our calendars sync, we'll ask for social media, passport and proof of travel/medical insurance before we confirm your stay.

Minimum age is 21. Must love large friendly dogs!

Web2 link above is Maggie’s video of her trip through California, including her stay with us.

All photos posted here are taken on our property. The horse belongs to our neighbor.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use